Skip to content

Funny Movie Recommendations

April 25, 2007
by

Add comments on this post to tell us about your favorite funny movies!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. Peter E permalink*
    April 25, 2007 8:04 pm

    One of my favorites is Cold Comfort Farm. “The Lord will provide . . . or not!”

  2. Ed Rejuney permalink
    April 26, 2007 9:29 am

    I have to say I laughed harder at parts of “Borat” than at anything in recent memory, though one has to leave one’s political correctness at the door. “Little Miss Sunshine” had some good laughs too, though some were a bit rough edged. “Some Like It Hot” is one of my favorite classics, as are the old Harold Lloyd movies (funnier than Chaplin). Though quite silly, there were moments in the musical version of “The Producers” that had me clutching my seat.

  3. April 26, 2007 2:04 pm

    What About Bob, which Peter still hasn’t watched with me, is so funny. I heard someone theorize once that in the same way you classify yourself as a human being by preferring Tolstoy to Dostoevsky or vice versa, you classify yourself by whether you sympathize with Richard Dreyfuss or Bill Murray.

  4. April 26, 2007 2:05 pm

    The funniest movie EVER, though, is Waiting For Guffman. I love Christopher Guest.

  5. Martha permalink
    April 26, 2007 3:55 pm

    George and Nathan are thorougly enjoying reruns from “I Dream of Jeanie” through Blockbusters. I liked “The Gods Must be Crazy” and “Bend it Like Beckham” If you tell us what you have enjoyed already it’ll give us hints of what to recommend next?

  6. Peter E permalink*
    April 26, 2007 4:02 pm

    Waiting for Guffman, ah. “I’ll tell you why I can’t put up with you people. Because you people are bastard people!”

    Actually, speaking of Guest, and music, you should see his A Mighty Wind, the folk-music mockumentary.

  7. Mark Filiatreau permalink
    April 26, 2007 4:13 pm

    A movie in recent memory that had me laughing so hard I couldn’t breathe was “Rat Race.” It’s sort of an updated version of the classic “It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World,” (1960) also a must see. “Failure to Launch” was a really good recent Romantic comedy that had a lot more comedy than romance.

  8. Peter E permalink*
    April 26, 2007 4:21 pm

    I second Rat Race. Worth it if only to hear John Cleese say, “I can do anything I want because I’m eccentric. Aaarrrgh”

  9. daniel duncan permalink
    April 27, 2007 3:59 pm

    Hi Liz,
    I am the other Indian fan working with Tim at the AFL-CIO. I am a cancer survivor of 13 years, having gone thru a bone marrow transplant to deal with non-Hodgkins lymphoma. What got me thru were the great Mel Brooks’ movie — The Producers, Blazing Saddles and Young Frankenstein — as well as all the Peter Sellers’ Pink Panther films. I also highly recommend the Rocky and Bullwinkle cartoons. The puns are even better as you get older.
    Hope these help and good luck.
    Dan

  10. Liz permalink*
    April 28, 2007 6:40 am

    Hi Dan,
    I absolutly love Rocky and Bullwinkle. i have the first year on DVD. and I am a big one for puns. you are right, they do get better with age!
    Peter Sellers is on the list. i love those pink panther movies. It has been many years since I’ve seen them.
    thanks for the post….and how bout that 6 in a row! Go tribe!

  11. Mary Hillstrom permalink
    May 1, 2007 9:29 pm

    “Sister Act” is one that had me laughing wildly and wanting to go back to see it again as soon as it was over.

  12. Peter E permalink*
    May 2, 2007 7:28 am

    The Producers, the original with Gene Wilder. And second on Gods Must Be Crazy I and II.

  13. May 4, 2007 10:32 am

    My favorites are

    Max Brothers’ “A Night at the Opera”, the Anvil Chorus was never the same.

    George Cukor’s “The women”, Norma Shearer,Joan Crawford, Joan Fontaine, Rosalind Russell…, a movie that is all about a man with all woman cast.

    Doris Day, Rock Hudson “Pillow Talk”

    Mel Brooke’s “The Producer”, just genius! And “The young Frankenstein” which made me think of the violin from a whole different angle.

    John Cleese’ “A Fish called Wanda”

    If you are advanturous and don’t mind gross-out comedies. “American Pie” and its two sequels.

    Robert Luketic’s “Legally Blond”

    “The Wedding Crasher”

    “40 year Old Virgin”

    Thats all folks!

  14. August 13, 2007 6:25 am

    The funny movies I can enjoy time and time again are:

    Ruthless People (with Danny DeVito, Bette Midler and Rosanna Arquette)

    The Truth about Cats and Dogs (with Uma Thurman)

    When Harry Met Sally

    Airplane

    Monty Python and the Holy Grail

    Hope you like them too!
    Thinking of you with love,
    Eve

  15. Dean Gray permalink
    August 21, 2007 2:06 pm

    Hey Liz,

    Just a note to say hi and let you know I’m still praying for you. As to movies, just saw an oldie on TV and then rented it with friends. The Parent Trap with Lindsay Lohan. Even if you’ve seen it, it’s fun to watch again. It’s even better If you can forget about her current troubles. Well made and little Lindsay was an amazing actress. Hi to The Man.

    — Dean

  16. Liz permalink*
    August 21, 2007 6:14 pm

    Hi Dean, I’ll put this one on the list! Thanks for the suggestion.

  17. October 13, 2007 2:55 am

    Recently discovered an oldie but goodie, The Rabbi of San Francisco. Since we first watched it a few months ago, Jesko still enjoys saying, “Oy…shit!”
    Thinking of you with love,
    Eve

  18. Liz permalink*
    October 16, 2007 2:27 pm

    Nest stop, Netflix! Looking forward to seeing this one! Thanks, Eve .

  19. Matthew permalink
    October 18, 2007 11:42 pm

    One of my all time personal favorite funny films that I can watch any time is Auntie Mame. It’s a classic!

    A few others that I’ve also enjoyed:
    City Slickers (Billy Crystal & Jack Palance)
    The Odd Couple (the original with Jack Lemon and Walter Mathau)
    The Desk Set (Hepburn & Tracy)
    9 to 5

    I hope these will bring some laughter to your days!

  20. Liz permalink*
    October 19, 2007 7:17 am

    Matthew –
    I’ve never seen Auntie Mame…I really love City Slickers and think it will be fun to see it again! Thanks for the reminder.
    Thanks for the email the other day….I wrote a really good reply to you both…and then…operator error strikes again…deleted it. Arggg
    Maybe we can catch up by phone (it’s harder to delete). I really want to know about the play!

  21. stacy permalink
    October 20, 2007 10:22 pm

    A stupid, funny movie that just recently came out on video is “Blades of Glory,” it makes fun of figure skating, which is funny even if you like figure skating. Another one along those lines is “Talladega Nights” this one makes fun of NASCAR.

  22. Liz permalink*
    October 23, 2007 12:57 pm

    Thanks, Stacy! I’ll add these to the netflix list!

  23. February 19, 2008 12:16 pm

    Hi,

    I just saw Juno. Very funny, very cute. I very much recommend it.

    Another favorite and debatably (one of) the best Tom Hanks/Meg Ryan movies, Joe vs. The Volcano. Is not remembered as a particularly great movie, but watch it again – it was before it’s time. Lloyd Bridges is great.

  24. Liz permalink*
    February 19, 2008 4:08 pm

    Rebecca – How are you?! I have Juno on my netflix list…Have to check to see how far down the list. And Joe and the Volcano..Loved it..haven’t seen it in years…have to see it again…Give your dad and everyone a hug and kiss for me…Jane too!

  25. April 9, 2008 11:21 am

    Hi Liz,

    Sorry for the delay in response 🙂 I just checked in again… And I’ll give everyone here X’s and O’s from you (Jane too!).

    Some more funniness…Death at a Funeral…a little low brow sometimes, but you have to laugh at that. Also a good pick, Two Days in Paris written and directed by Julie Delpy. As good as a trip to Paris when you can’t make it.

    Hope you and Tim are enjoying this Spring!

    Rebecca

  26. Mary Hillstrom permalink
    May 18, 2008 11:24 pm

    I recommend renting “Sweet Land – a Love Story” It doesn’t fall into the funny category although it does have some funny moments. It falls more into the “touching and leaves you with a warm heart” category. It’s a lovely movie that I think you will enjoy.

  27. May 22, 2008 6:10 am

    Mary – Sounds good to me! I’m going to netflix right now…

Leave a comment