Skip to content

Winter Solstice – Bungie Cord Edition

December 23, 2011
by

Here’s what happened…..(I’m watching Monk reruns. All credit goes to the writers)

September hit and life got really busy. I found myself in three choruses and auditing a history class. This on top of trying to keep up and run the house etc…

Life was going pretty well except that I was pretty tired and found myself in a chorus that I was not enjoying and found the experience to be pretty stressful. I cannot believe that I said the words stressful and chorus in the same sentence…a clear indicator that something was wrong somewhere. I pushed myself through it…I don’t like to quit things.

A couple of weeks after the concert, and a weekend trip out of town, I came down with a fever. a high fever. We’re talking 103-104. Burned for days… 2 weeks actually. I’m not afraid of high fever. The heat burns out the bad bugs. My biggest mistake was staying in bed so much… I got pneumonia. pretty bad.

It became clear that I needed to see a doctor…I ended up in the emergency room, and in the hospital for a week. Great doctors, great staff…though they beat up my only arm really bad. Finally my veins gave out and they decided not to continue IV antibiotics, and sent me home.

I’m home a couple of weeks now…pretty tired and with frozen shoulders. I was looking at a meridian chart the other day. The lung meridian runs right across the top of the shoulders and down the arms. perhaps not a big surprise that my arms are not working right now.
Of course, the hospital staff kept sticking me with needles and have you ever spent any time in a hospital bed? with those rubber pillows? omg.

Anyway… My lungs are clearing, I’m getting some energy back though I’m pretty tired, and here I am a solstice and Christmas with empty hands… no gifts, no decorating… nothing… not even much of a schedule besides lots of bodywork to try to get my arms back…

Thank God the solstice is here. The days will get longer now, and spring is going to be here soon. Time to sweep the corners of life and clear out the dust some more. I’ve been doing it all year… swept out some pretty ugly stuff…Solstice helps me reflect on how much work I’ve done and remind me to keep going with fresh spirit.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Miri permalink
    December 23, 2011 8:38 am

    I’m glad you are feeling better Liz… what an experience….
    take care of your special self and I hope you get your strength back soon!
    Thinking of you and sending healing thoughts your way…
    Have a bountiful and blessed holiday season…. xoxo

    • December 26, 2011 8:03 pm

      Miri, my friend! How are you? I’ve missed you! Seems that we both took blogging breaks at the same time 🙂 I hope you and your family are well, and that you had a merry and blessed Christmas.
      I’m getting better. Slowly. I think it may be a couple more months before I’m better… at least that is what I hear…
      Much love
      Liz

  2. Bob permalink
    December 23, 2011 6:19 pm

    I thought of the longer days ahead when I looked at the darkening sky at 4 o’clock this afternoon. There is the matter of January and February, of course, but I like your farsighted view! I feel so badly about shoulder, arm and all those needles. Reminds me of your question a couple of years ago: Do I look like a pincushion? Guess they don’t get it! But it sounds as if you are on the mend, though pneumonia is so slow.

    I’m so sorry the singing wasn’t a good experience. I hope there will be inspiring opportunities for the spring.

    Prayers and good thoughts,

    Bob

    • December 26, 2011 8:10 pm

      Hi Bob! I’m hoping to sing this spring…There is a very talented senior music student studying conducting. She is directing a choir… Last semester the music was beautiful…I’m intending to sing this spring, even if I just attend rehearsals not singing at first… I know I’ll be better by late April early May (ah spring)! The other choruses must be put on hold for this spring… I think large groups are not a good idea right now, and conserving energy will be important.
      Singing and music is such a passion for me I cannot imagine not doing it… just slowly…..
      Liz

  3. Gail Lynn permalink
    December 26, 2011 6:53 pm

    Wow Liz … Richard has a port now on iv antbx (psoas abcess) at home with HH. He is so relieved. Was wondering where you are and what’s up. call sometime. Love, Gail

    • December 26, 2011 8:17 pm

      Hi Gail,
      Thanks for the message. Glad Richard is home! I think I tucked your number in my knitting bag… will look…

  4. Pat permalink
    December 29, 2011 11:12 am

    Hi, Liz. I’m glad you finally posted something because I was beginning to suspect that something was wrong. I’m glad it was “only pneumonia,” although that’s a tough one, and it takes a long time to recover from. Best wishes for strength and healing as the days grow longer.
    Love, Pat

Leave a Reply

