Skip to content

BCF Monteverdi Vespers Week – Wednesday

August 3, 2011

Ah! Monteverdi! Genius! I’m pretty busy singing this week and thought I would find another fine example of the music to share…
This one is currently kicking my butt πŸ™‚ The alto part is very low, and there is sooo much text! These Vespers are beautifully crafted. It is a privilege to sing them.

We are singing about five hours per day. The chorus here is top flight and our director is outstanding.

I hope you will enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    August 14, 2011 12:52 pm

    Good post!

    Love the period instruments. Didn’t realize how much the brass covered the entire cantus line. We didn’t really need them, did we πŸ™‚

    Still ringing in my ears.

    Cheers,

    Bob

    • August 16, 2011 5:27 am

      Nope! I think we could have done with a whole lot less brass…..Modern instruments are just too big… . I’m glad that the chorus maintained integrity and did not try to out-sing them…. especially the sopranos singing Santa Maria… they were great! (just too covered by the @$%#&^% brass!)
      I’m enjoying the “ringing”!
      Cheers back to you πŸ™‚
      Liz

  2. August 27, 2011 4:32 pm

    Beautiful voices. (I agree on the Brass. it’s a bit loud. πŸ™‚ Sending healing thoughts and best wishes.

    Have you heard about Avemar? I’ve only discovered this Niacin product today so I still have to do research.

    • August 28, 2011 6:45 pm

      Hi Inge! thanks for the visit πŸ™‚
      I’ve never heard of Avenar… I’m going to do some searching myself!
      i’m glad to have met you.
      Liz

  3. December 20, 2011 4:30 pm

    Hi Liz…I’ve been following your blog and was wondering how you are?

    Debbie Amato
    uupfdamato@aol.com

    • December 23, 2011 5:17 am

      Debbie,
      Thanks so much for posting a comment! I have found it so encouraging. I’m so glad that you are a reader πŸ™‚
      I’m afraid writer’s block and being pressed for time set in. I do love this blog and intend to keep it πŸ™‚
      I wish you a happy new year!
      Liz

Leave a Reply

