Skip to content

BCF Monteverdi Vespers Week!

July 26, 2011

Hi all 🙂 I’m preparing to leave in a few days to go to the Berkshire Choral Festival in Massachusetts to sing. I’ve had this opportunity for the past four summers. I’ll have more details after I arrive next Sunday.

We (the chorus) arrive on Sunday, rehearse Monday through Friday, and sing a concert on the following Saturday night.

This week…The Monteverdi Vespers (1610). For your listening pleasure, have a listen to the video below… This is one of my very favorites! Double chorus, 8 voice parts…oops! Did I say 8 parts? I meant to say 10 parts! If you watch the video closely, you will be able to see the two choruses work together. Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 7:35 am

    ah Liz! I missed you (albeit virtually!), so this is the reason you were not blogging the past few days!

    You must be enjoying it. I just bought a Yamaha digital piano for my 5 year old daughter. Just delivered today and my daughter cant stop playing and singing. I am now imagining that she will he part of a youth choir either as a pianist or a vocalist 🙂

    will watch the video once I get home… video not allowed in the office..

    keep it up! music is good for the soul, praise songs is good for the spirit.

    and long term health!

    Blessings!
    Lanie

  2. July 27, 2011 8:05 am

    Hi Lanie! I’ve been putting in some hours learning this music these days. It is expected that the music be learned before arriving for festival next week…
    I’ve been singing since I was a small child. It brings me joy and I do it for my health.
    When I was a child my parents encouraged me.
    Good for you getting a keyboard for your daughter!
    cheers,
    Liz

  3. January 6, 2013 10:41 pm

    Another great blog to add to your collection….please read: http://www.peacelovemelanoma.com/blog/lisaformato

Leave a Reply

