Skip to content

Thermography – Initial Impressions

June 19, 2011

A few days ago I did another thermography study. As you may know, I’m monitoring my left breast as along the left side of the surgical scar there is a large lump of scar tissue that the surgeon (Dr. Scary Pants) wants to biopsy, and I don’t want to at this point.
Last December I took a comprehensive array of infrared pictures and though the left breast is hotter than the right, the tissues responded appropriately to the cold challenge. and even cooled down more following lymph drainage and an adjustment to my leg length by inserting a heel lift into my shoe.

It has been 6 months, and frankly, I was a bit nervous about the pictures this time… While I’m still waiting for the final report, I can say what I saw on the screen… I was encouraged.

Thermography is done by taking infrared pictures of the breasts, which show heat patterns, then challenging the body by making the hands cold for about a minute, then re-taking the pictures and measuring the difference in temperature of the breast. Areas where there is increased blood flow, a sign of tumor growth, will remain at the same temperature, or even become warmer…

Here is what we saw… keep in mind that this is not the final report. Neither breast had red or white spots. Good! Red and white are very hot colors. I know that red could have been in the spectrum because there was red at my neck. The areas in question were cooler, and cooled down after the cold challenge. Again, good. There are two spots under my arm that, though not red, did not cool down after the cold challenge. Not sure what that means. And, in the right breast, when you look at the picture taken from the side, there is an area of heat, though smaller this time than last time.

The office that does the thermography also takes a picture of my back. Of the three places where I’ve had thermography, they are the only one who take that shot. I would suggest that you ask for a picture of your back… Here is what I found.

There is a red spot in my back directly behind my left breast. I said yikes! Then I asked to see last December’s pictures of my back. Well…. last December my back was very red, and the red extended all up and down my spine! Double yikes! It seems that I’m clearing that heat up. I’m so glad it is better and I’ll be keeping an eye on my back pictures from now on…

I’m hoping to have a final report in a couple of weeks, and results of conventional blood work in about a week…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 7:12 am

    keep it coming (your blog entries about thermography). we were supposed to go for thermography last May, but we ran out of time. Glad that you are seeing good results ..

    A lady I met from another alternative forum took her thermography scans before and after mercury amalgam removal and root canal removal.. she saw a lot of improvements after the amalgam/root canal removal (even if she had not done any chelation yet)

    regards,
    Lanie

    • June 25, 2011 7:35 am

      I’m hoping to have official results soon. Lymph massage and structural adjustment of leg length were helpful after the last time.
      I’d love to know which alternative forum you belong to…can you share?
      All the best to you and your family
      Liz

  2. June 30, 2011 3:44 am

    Hi Liz,
    I used to be with the alternative forum at breastcancer.org but there is a strong anti-alternative group there (and they are also tolerated/supported by the site’s administrator and owner) — as the site owner herself is a staunch conventional supporter. the site is run as charity but their sponsors are from Big Pharma.

    There are lots of alties there though who are really quite helpful (evebarry, impositive, Joylieswithin), send any of them a private message and introduce yourself– they are the administratior of a “private” forum which is by invitation only– due to the bad attention we were attracting from BCO.

    regards,
    Lanie

    • June 30, 2011 7:04 pm

      Thank you! I think I’ll go over there and say hi. I’m so sorry that the anti alternative voice is so strong… Big Pharma backing will keep that in place.
      Thanks for suggesting who I might contact… I will do so!
      Liz

Leave a Reply

