Skip to content

Happy Solstice!

December 22, 2010
by

YAY! Another solstice… and a hum dinger this year! Solstice and a full moon and a total lunar eclipse at the same time… my goodness…

Now that the year has turned and the days are getting longer, and the energy of the earth is pushing toward spring and renewal of life, I was just wondering about new year resolutions and why the new year begins with January and the shortest days anyway…I mean, after all, the year could start anytime, though I find it very unsettling when companies set their fiscal calendar for other months… don’t you? I think I would hate it if the new year were any other time.

It’s good to know where boundaries are… else how would you know where you are in space and time? And what could be more satisfying than bouncing off the very bottom of the year, like on a bungee cord, and flinging ourselves headlong into another cycle? Whee!

This year is done. I’ve always considered the year over at solstice…. It does make the remaining days of December troublesome for me… it feels like limbo. I get that “Let’s get on with it” kind of feeling… how ’bout you?

So now, let’s acknowledge the completion of the old, and begin the new project or resolution of renewed attitude and purpose with joy and energy… life is good!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    December 22, 2010 10:37 am

    Why am I not surprised that you posted a supercharged laud to the winter solstice?

    As for the rest of December, I find that there is such a store of uplifting Christmas music that it carries me through the stress of preparing for the holiday and dealing with the decidedly mixed memories that Christmas entails (we don’t always acknowledge that there is usually an edgy side of Christmas). All the way to Twelfth Night, and now you’re in the New Year.

    And don’t forget candles, with their magical glow, on the tree (if you dare), at Christmas Eve services and (if you are like my older daughter) whereever in the house she can put them.

    A big YES to your last sentence!

    Bob

Leave a Reply

