Skip to content

De-PORT-ed

October 18, 2010
by

Countdown has begun…in 10 days the port gets removed! The surgery should be a fairly easy matter, except that I don’t like to be cut…I’ll be going back to DC to have it done by my own surgeon, at the hospital. Light sedation (I get along pretty well with Valium drips) and hopefully only one cut. (dusts off hands briskly…done!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    October 21, 2010 9:42 am

    Liz –

    I never knew “deporting” could sound like a positive experience! You must be pleased to move on from having the port. Perhaps you can listen to Bach, or Brahms, or Monteverdi while the surgeon works?

    Lots of fall colors in the maples here; one last encore by nature before the starkness of November. I think the frost will get my morning glories tonight. They’ve been burgeoning the past few weeks of mild weather.

    Maybe you’ll be driving through some good foliage on your way to DC.

    Cheers,

    Bob

    • October 21, 2010 8:00 pm

      Hi Bob! The foliage is just about done here in Ohio…I’ll be driving into greener areas in DC. Leaves are not down until nearly Thanksgiving there…
      I think I am going to be happy to be on the other side of Next Wednesday and the surgery. I can’t keep this port forever, and now I will not have to worry about it… It has been nice in some ways… I just can’t keep it any longer…
      Am praying for a good vein sticker to draw blood in the future…

  2. Susan G permalink
    November 2, 2010 2:55 pm

    Hey Liz – it was great to see you two!
    I just happened upon this and thought you’d get a rant out of it:
    http://paulharrisonline.blogspot.com/2010/10/exploiting-breast-cancer.html

    • November 2, 2010 7:33 pm

      jeeze! Thanks for the clip! I’m so glad it is finally November…

Leave a Reply

