Skip to content

Woosh…..

September 10, 2010

Life just keeps rushing on πŸ™‚ I’ve arrived home to lots to do and the new Fall schedule to contemplate.

First things first… I’ve gotten the blood test results back from my onc’s office… And after staring at the envelope and not opening it for a couple of days, (I hate those envelopes) I finally got the nerve. All is well, I’m happy to say. My CA27-29 is …(drumroll please)….20 …..YAY…..This is 5 points lower than last time…The Doc’s office switched labs to Quest. The CA27-29 test is the same and I suppose I can assume the same type of results.
Not so for my poor Vit D test… Labcorp is the place to go for that… There is a formula to apply to Quest results that should give an accurate result… As soon as I get that little formula I will pass it on so you can use it too, in the event that you have to use Quest. Turns out that my doc’s office was not happy with the turn-around time of Labcorp and switched exclusively to Quest. Anyway, my raw score is 74, which , I think when I apply the formula required for Quest tests, is actually lower than that… rats… I’ve been continuing to take Vit D, just not every day… mostly once a week… aprox 35,000 to 50,000 IU. I’ve gone back to taking 10,000 a day. We’ll see how it looks in October or December when I test again…Last time it was 94… perfect for a canser babe like me πŸ™‚

I’m not sure, yet, how to interpret thyroid test results.. More as soon as I am able…H1AC is still borderline…hmmmm….I’ve not been altogether too careful the past year… especially the past few months. I’ve never been able to really effect this result no matter how careful I’ve been. Some further thinking needs to be done…I’m considering checking into some saliva hormone testing… It has been a few years since the last time…there has got to be a reason why I cannot impact this result.

I’m still waiting for the thermography report to come in… As soon as it does I’ll let everyone know.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    September 13, 2010 1:46 pm

    Hi, Liz –

    It was GOOD to hear from you. Sounds like some good news so far, so we’ll hope for more when the thermography comes in. I remember situations where I did not want to open an envelope. Pit of the stomach stress, right?

    I forget — is an MRI part of the process, or isn’t it useful? I didn’t know thyroid issues were part of your picture. I just read about the saliva hormone test in connection with a study of a large sample of men testing for signs of prostate cancer, the scourge that we men tend to worry about. The report suggested that this testing is getting more attention as a useful diagnostic tool in a wide range of situations. It has to be helpful to know that new techniques — not just medicines — are being developed to detect problems and treat them.

    Any time to think about music as you are going through all this medical stuff? I heard a recording of Brahms’ Requiem the other night — BSO with James Levine. We just stopped cold and listened. So peaceful and inspiring.

    Cheers and hopes for good news from the thermography.

    Best to Tim, too.

    Bob

    • September 13, 2010 2:46 pm

      Hi Bob πŸ™‚ Yeah, that pit of the stomach hate to open the envelope feeling…hate it! MRI usually happens in December…Though I was just reading that there is a “black Box” warning on the contrast dyes that are used in the procedure…black box means that there is serious risk of injury from using the dye.. great…
      Saliva tests the hormone level that is free. The blood tests hormone that is protien bound…There are two schools of thought about which is better…I prefer saliva, I think it is a better indicator of true levels.
      And, finally, ahhhh Brahms…nothing more to say… I’m so glad that I’ve had the opportunity to sing that wonderful requium with a good chorus…nothing like it!

  2. Whole Body Healer permalink
    September 15, 2010 1:37 pm

    Adrenal fatigue can impact glucose metabolism & therefore, possibly your H1aC results. Are you taking Chromium? xoxo

  3. September 15, 2010 7:20 pm

    Hi there πŸ™‚ Glad that you could visit πŸ™‚ I have not taken Chromium in a long time! I have some here that is a little expired though may still be a bit useful. Here I was so excited when I passed the blood pressure test with Donna! I’v been under so much stress in the past two years, and especially in the past year, that it would not surprise me if my I need some support.
    I’m seriously thinking of some saliva hormone testing to see stress hormones (and other things) I’m checking into it now…..
    xoxo to you
    Liz

  4. Rich permalink
    September 24, 2010 8:30 am

    Fascinating article but, I really thought the last four paragraphs were worth reading.

    http://www.americanscientist.org/issues/pub/2010/5/zeroing-in-on-cancer

Leave a Reply

