Skip to content

Blogging From Washington DC…

August 19, 2010

I’m here again ๐Ÿ™‚ Up to the usual… doctor visits and (much more fun) visiting with friends!
Here is the itinerary….

This morning I had yet another thermography study done. This is the third place I’ve been to in the last year and a half. I learned a lot from it. For example, they wanted the cold water to be about 50 degrees…not freezing… the reason is that more extreme temps cause an over-reaction and not the desired result. Interesting. I never reported on the last exam done in Michigan…My impression was that their cold challenge was not cold enough…I’m rethinking my position on that. They used cold therapy gloves instead of water in Michigan…Today I used water that was very carefully temperature controlled.
The tech spent some time with me reviewing some of the pictures and temperature differences pre and post cold challenge…There is good news and some things to watch… The good news is that there are no really hot spots in either breast… meaning no reds or whites where I expect to see them….I still have areas of concern in the left side, perhaps because of the surgery. MRI images look good as of last December… I’m still trying to improve the colors and temps on these infra-red images.
What showed up last time, and again this time, is something in the other breast. Rather high on the chest and close to the armpit… and red…I forgot to mention to the tech that I still have the port in place. It could be that causing some inflammation in the area. It is time to get rid of the port…it’s just a hassle because I want to come back here to have my regular surgeon do the work…and it’s surgery and drugs and blah bah blah…sigh.

I’ll have to wait for a week or so for the official scoring and report to be mailed to me… drat! Last time my score went up to TH4 on the left, and I had my first ever TH2 on the right…

The rest of my time here I have several other medical things going on… My surgeon wants to see my smiling face on Monday, I’m going to schedule some blood work on Tuesday with the oncologist. I also want to check Vitamin D levels and perhaps a couple other things that are not on the routine blood panel. And I’ll see my favorite ENT while here… just a look and see visit…upset stomach and some reflux. I’m paying better attention to taking probiotic and enzymes and stress reduction.
I’ll also see Donna and see some live blood and do some frequency testing… let’s see the things that typically fly under the radar.

For fun I get to see friends, eat some great Thai food (twice!), attend an RC workshop in DC on Friday, and attend church at my two favorite places. I find it restful and healing… finding a good church in Ohio is proving a challenge…don’t even get me started…that is a post for another time ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 5:53 pm

    Hi Liz,
    I just had my first thermogram on Tuesday – still waiting for results. I am fortunate that Advanced Thermal Imaging has a clinic only 20 minutes from my home every three months. No ice water though, just cooling down the room temperature. Is that a special procedure or just how they do it in your part of the country?
    Anyway, thanks for your personal thermogram herstory. Since I don’t know anyone else, yet, using this around here, it’s very helpful to hear your experiences. You can visit me on gyatazen.wordpress.com if you like.
    Gyata

    • August 20, 2010 7:03 pm

      Hi Gyata ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m very happy to meet you! I’m traveling right now and have very limited time online… I have visited your blog and want to go back and really read it as soon as I am able….
      Sounds as though we will both get results about the same time!
      xoxo
      Liz

  2. Bob permalink
    August 19, 2010 9:45 pm

    Liz –

    I figured you might be there. You must be getting tired of driving! What a trooper you are to deal with all the stuff and maintain such a positive attitude. Not to mention giving others a boost. Church must have been especially comforting; spiritual support is so much more than just the right beliefs and a particular liturgy.

    Sounds as if there are some encouraging signs from the thermography and MRIs. And getting rid of the port sounds like a sort of emancipation.

    Smile for the surgeon; better yet, sing for him! And good luck with all the tests and such. We’re rooting for you big time.

    Bob

    • August 20, 2010 7:08 pm

      Hi Bob! I’m so thanksul that I have a nice and reliable car to drive… The trip so far is going very well…
      I wouder how the acustics are in the exam room? Nowhere near as good as the stairwell in Birkshire Hall… (remember?) For those who would not know, if you sing in that stairwell you sound like a pro ๐Ÿ™‚ Fun fun fun!
      more later …
      Liz

      • Bob permalink
        August 21, 2010 4:50 pm

        Of course I remember. I almost skipped the audition so I could hear the whole song. Some day I intend to.

        Maybe you should sing after the exam. The surgeon might get distracted!

        Good luck and cheers.

        Bob

Leave a Reply

