Skip to content

Amen. A BCF Wrap-up

August 9, 2010

Well, I’m on my way home now and thought I’d share a few pictures and thoughts about the week…..

A random view of the dining room...

More of a view from my seat in the chorus


Just before rehearsal begins


Altos bring their knitting everywhere!

We sang the concert last night! It was a great time, and all of the most difficult parts of the Poulenc went really well. Even the one where the altos sing accapella so quietly that we can almost not be heard, on a starting note so hard to find that it requires much prayer and grace to sing at all. We nailed it! This morning, when we were listening to the recording of last nights performance, the room burst into cheers and applause after that section. I think the entire chorus was praying for the altos during that passage…There was every possibility that a small group of singers who could sing it for sure might have to be selected from the group. We altos are not to be defeated, so we pulled up our socks and all sang. Believe me, it was a bit tense….When we did it right, the morning after the threat of having to sing it solo to prove we actually could do it, Frank and Ory, (esteemed faculty), standing at the back of the room, did one of those big bowing waves that you see at sporting events!
The rest of the Gloria was performed with a stately elegance and transcendent beauty that never fails to bring tears to my eyes. I love being part of the sound. To add my voice and create the art makes all the hard work worth it. The music deserves to be sung with as much perfection as possible.

The Bizet was sure fun to sing. Bizet was just 20 when he wrote it, which could explain the fugue, which gets a bit bogged down in the middle. I love large parts of that Te Deum!

And the Rutter… ahhh… a total surprise to me! Easy to memorize, and fun to sing. I liked it much more than I expected that I would… it is service music, and kinda sounds like it (to me). The richness of the harmony throughout and the beautiful melody introduced by the basses near the end changed my mind, and now I love it! We sang it well, and perhaps were most relaxed during this part of the concert.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    August 10, 2010 10:11 pm

    What a nice wrapup and great pictures. I’ll get the one of you and Anton out to you tomorrow, using the technique you have suggested. I think you should post it.

    Saturday was a real blast, but also deeply moving. I’m so glad you were swept up by the Poulenc. I was sure you’d like it.

    It was great to sing with you.

    Glory, indeed.

    Bob

    • August 11, 2010 7:07 am

      Hi Bob 🙂 I would love to have that picture! I don’t remember looking at it on your camera the night we took it. I still have after concert earworm. I keep switching which part of the music is running in my head, so Poulenc runs into Rutter, runs into …
      I love the after concert echo… I’ll live happily with it until it begins to fade, and then off to Monteverdi!

  2. Bob permalink
    August 11, 2010 9:54 am

    “After concert earworm!” I love it. Just now it’s “tu solus altissimus” in my head. So beautifully contemplative and mysterious.

    Could you send me again the link to sending pictures? I know you sent it some months ago, but I never followed up and I want you and Anton to get out there.

Leave a Reply

