Skip to content

New Bike!

July 11, 2010
tags:
by

My newest mode of transportation around town


Another view of the new purple bike

Do you love it? I do 🙂 I’m riding all over town these days! It is nice here in the summer because there are fewer people here and it has been easy to get used to riding. Yesterday I rode in traffic for the first time. Not to worry too much though… “traffic” means that a couple of cars passed by me, and then I popped up on the sidewalk for the next few blocks! It is terrifying and exciting, and I can go so much further and faster than on foot… great for the muscles too!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    July 13, 2010 4:31 pm

    Yeah for the freedom, the quiet and the places you can reach more easily on a bike. Good for you!

    I took a spin last week on a bike that is adjusted for Nathan’s legs. Getting on and off was harder than it should have been. But it is a fine way to enjoy God’s creation.

    Sent you an email, too.

    Keep on trucking. I’m rooting for you. Hugs
    M

    • July 13, 2010 7:37 pm

      Hi Martha! I’ve discovered some small hills… fun to coast down!
      I’ll call and we can talk about August etc…
      Liz

  2. Bob permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:52 pm

    Liz –

    Nice bike, nice color. Bring it to Sheffield. I can see you now, Linus-like (or was it Snoopy?), wheeling around campus with sunglasses (and shawl streaming in the breeze)!

    Bob

  3. July 27, 2010 8:27 am

    LOL! What a sight! I can see it too…I sure would get to rehearsal fast! Unhappily, no bike rack for the car, so I’ll be on foot.
    Did I see that BCF is doing the Monteverdi Vespers next summer at Sheffield? Have you ever sung it? I was listening some… very beautiful and sounds challenging… I’ve not heard that they are auditioning a chorus for it…

  4. Bob permalink
    July 28, 2010 1:40 pm

    Yes, Monteverdi Vespers next summer — last week, I think. It is auditioned, but you get a pass as you were auditioned successfully last year. I have actually worked up a lovely Bach passage and am going to stick my neck out again, but this time in person next week. People say that auditioning in person is better, though my friend John Baker sent a tape a week late for the Rachmaninov and was accepted. His voice is worth it, we’ll what I can do with mine.

    I have sung the Monteverdi with some outstanding early music soloists. You will absolutely love it. Just right for your interests, I think. The conductor will be comparable to Dale Warland. He directs one of the best singing groups in New York, the Oratorio Society of NY. First heard them when I was in knee pants.

    Sorry the biking won’t work out. I even had my camera ready to capture the moment!

    Last night I went with a number of friends from my chorus who are coming out next week to an open sing of the Poulenc directed by an excellent local conductor. It was extremely helpful, but in part the “help” was confirming that there are passages that I still do not have in my ear. How are you doing with it?

    Best to you both,

    Bob

    • July 28, 2010 6:42 pm

      I get a pass?! No way! I’ll bring something to sing in case I need to audition. I was thinking of a voice lesson to help me prepare to audition for one of the Oberlin choruses while I’m there. I’ll have music for that. Was there an email to all regarding the auditions for Monteverdi? Is there an audition protocol the way there was for Rachmaninov? I’m so glad that you will audition! It will be great to sing these Vespers with you! Here’s to praying that we are both accepted 🙂
      I’m looking forward to hearing this year’s music live in the room. That is when things click in for me. Meantime I’m listening a lot and marking my scores. I think it will be fun! The Poulanc in beginning to grow on me.
      I’m looking forward to seeing you a few days time. I think we should have very nice weather for singing.

Leave a Reply

