Skip to content

Yoga – Not Yet Ready for Primetime

March 13, 2010
tags: , ,
by

So… I’ve been wanting to take some classes at the local yoga studio here in town… how convenient is that?  Walk to it.

So I have taken a couple of “gentle” yoga classes…these are pretty aggressive gentle classes.  Most of the moves require weight on the arms and shoulders…. I tried to under use my shoulders.  I made one mistake in class by trying a move and my bad shoulder is hurting now.  Drat. Scares me a bunch, and I’m praying that my body gives me a pass and heals fast and my arm does not swell.  If you are praying… as always… you know what to do!

Ok… so … now the yoga plan… because I’m not willing to give up on it.  I just have to make it work for me.  There are a couple of other teachers who work there, and a class on Friday nights that is mostly meditation.  I love yoga for the relaxation of it.  I can always just assume some restorative poses while the class does what I cannot right now.  I continue to be amazed at my lack of stamina.

I was going to write more before I posted this, and am going ahead anyway so you guys can know to pray for healing right away.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 3:23 pm

    I am praying for you and restoration of you arm and shoulder faster than in the past, really fast. Someone I met recently said that as we get older one of the things we must do is learn to live with limits.

    This learning seems like a many faceted process. What are the limits? Why is it happening? Are they temporary? How many ways shall I best respond? When do I look for answers elsewhere? Where do I look? You seems to be tackling many of these questions with grace and perseverence. May those answers refresh and allow you to heal.

    Meanwhile I will continue to pray for excellent restoration, quickly.

    Gentle hugs, Martha

    • March 15, 2010 8:42 pm

      Hi Martha 🙂 While I’m all for living with limits, I am not in favor of accepting them :). It is clear that I have some work to do before I can do the kind of yoga that I used to be able to do… somewhat…
      I am happy to say that my shoulder is getting better…. Now, with some prayer and discipline I will get my arms and shoulders strong enough to help prevent the lymph issues that I want to prevent…
      I think I need supernatural help because I am easily distracted and want to do this with a group and not on all by myself…Not sure how all that will happen…
      I am so thankful for your prayers… they are a big support and help!
      Stay tuned…

  2. angela permalink
    March 21, 2010 12:49 pm

    healing vibes!!!

    there is a women, Judy Barr, an amazing yoga teacher. in her classes all levels get tended too. she has people who can only do yoga in a chair. she works with the cleveland clinic too. she could help you get what you need without compromising your shoulder. if i were you i would attended one of her gentle classes and then you could always do a one on one with her. this would give you tools to take with you to any yoga class. she was one of my teachers during my training.

    http://heartlightyoga.com/

    • March 21, 2010 6:13 pm

      I’ve just had a look at the heart Light site… I like it 🙂 and it’s in Rocky River…not too far away…
      I’ll give them a call when I get back home… I’m traveling now…
      How is your shoulder?

  3. angela permalink
    March 22, 2010 9:50 pm

    Great! Judi Barr is awesome just make be sure to see her.

    my shoulder is doing great! I did not take any narcotics. The pain for the most part has been very minimal. this is shocking to them because most people take narcotics for 2 weeks following surgery. Mind over matter…. I had in my head that the pain would be minimal and thats what I got. There was no fear. Its a wonderful thing to take control of your own health. I expressed my thoughts when I felt something other than “their” plan would benefit me and they listened. so many times people have a blind trust in our medical community when the reality is we are our own best advocate!

    I have a very long recovery and this sling is massive and uncomfortable BUT I am healing and for that I am very grateful! Thanks for asking and by the way I loved my corn free vit. c drip. 😉

    safe travels
    Angela

  4. Bob permalink
    March 27, 2010 7:41 am

    Liz –

    Sorry not to have been in touch sooner and I hope the shoulder is continuing to get better. Yes, I can imagine that “limits” aren’t in your vocabulary! Does “slow and steady wins the race” make it easier to accept them?

    I see you are on the road. I’d put good money on a bet that you will be at Strathmore tonight. Not only Brahms, but Chishester Psalms and Chris Nomura as well. Your old chorus is one lucky group to have him sing with them. If I’m right, let me know how you like him.

    Cheers and prayers,

    Bob

  5. March 27, 2010 8:48 am

    Hi Bob 🙂 Alas, I am home already…..I had hoped that I would be able to attend a rehearsal last week and sit in the hall and sing the Brahms Requium…. that was not possible….Concert day is today and I’m sure it will be a really good one. Check out the Washington Post for a review. If they review it is usually in before Wednesday. It’s a powerful lot of singing they are doing today!
    Yea for slow and steady….
    I got my BCF music last week… I’m loving the Bizet the best now…

Leave a Reply

