Skip to content

Ohio Germs – Part Two

February 21, 2010

Oh for Pete’s sake!  I’ve got an upper respiratory thing again!  Fever… the whole thing… and I sound terrible.  Grump.

So I’m out in the world, making friends, learning to knit (without too many casualties), doing some RC things with the local community of mostly students… getting coughed on…

And, not only that, I’ve got a lymph cord stuck all the way down my arm…hurts lots.  No swelling though, which is good.  I’m trying to get it unstuck by stretching and trying to coax it free.  Knitting bothers my thumbs some and I thought it was that at first…I’m sure that is part of it.  I think it is a combo of tendon, nerve, and lymph… oh great.  I’ve got an appointment with the physical therapist I’ve been seeing here, on Monday.  Two hands working on the lymph cord is better than one.  I don’t get to knit as much as I would like…drat.

So, I’m laying awake, at four AM, worrying about life and canSer and death… don’t you just love four AM?  Time to get up!  So here I am, at the crack of dawn, writing, and directing all this worry and yuck out.  Way better than in, don’t you think?

This is a busy week, too, with a special RC meeting this afternoon.  I want to go and say hi at least.  Later this week is Tim’s birthday… Tim said he would like to explore a new place to eat… and so we will!   Then, later this week, there is a home show in Akron.  There are a couple of vendors there who we want to see.  We are planning to go to town and stay a couple of days.

I know that I’ve not been complaining too much here on this blog, or anywhere else for that matter… I’m generally pretty optimistic and upbeat… sometimes this is a bit challenging.

Needless to say, I’m hitting the Vitamin D hard again for a few days.  I’ve been continuing to take it on a somewhat regular basis… sometimes skipping several days.  For the next few I’ll take 100,000 IU per day and hope to knock this out.  I’m hitting the Hyssop oil again, too.

Ok, enough of this for now…Time for you to share how you scare the monsters away…:)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. angela permalink
    February 22, 2010 1:22 pm

    oh yes, the 4 a.m. monsters!! The best way I find to chase mine away at 4 a.m. is to do some breathing and relaxation exercises. Focus on the present, there are so many great things about the now, don’t let the mind win and make this moment something thats its not. Acknowledge your thoughts and fears and then let them float far away on a cloud!

    Angela

  2. February 22, 2010 3:57 pm

    I love the cloud idea 🙂 I always forget about the breathing thing! sigh… I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one slaying 4am monsters!

  3. Bob permalink
    February 22, 2010 4:44 pm

    Why is it that four a.m. is when all the goblins decide to visit? For me it’s problems at work that haven’t lent themselves to clear solutions, the long overdue cleanup of my study and the basement and other such relatively inconsequential things. But, yes, one wakes up and can’t get back to sleep. Great for the mood when it finally is time to be up! What to do? Definitely let it get out there (here!).

    I was just about to write you because it’s February 22, real Washington’s Birthday, and for me a big day marking a turning point in winter. It reminds me of your post in December about the winter solstice. We just happened to have three great days of bright sun and 40 degree weather this weekend. The sun now has an unmistable spring quality; more Vitamin D per minute, too, though maybe you don’t want to go out in a bikini just yet. I gather you have been socked in by clouds and snow FOREVER out there. Surely the clouds will part and you can focus on being one third the way to the summer solstice.

    So sorry to hear about respiratory and arm stuff. Bummer! Hang in there and listen to some inspiring music. (Just heard Brahms Requiem last night. Can’t do much better than that.)

    Best to Tim.

    Bob

    • February 22, 2010 5:40 pm

      Hi Bob! The only good thing about 4am goblins is that they do seem smaller in the light of day. Thank God for that…whew…
      Part of my commitment to this blog project is to try to reflect all aspects of the process… not just the good news parts… I just hate writing about the yucky parts… like this…
      Ahhh. I love Washington’s birthday.. to bad we have to lump Washington and Lincoln into the same birthday! We have robins around here… earlier than any other place I’ve lived…interesting…though I think someone has misplaced the sun… I’m glad it is making an appearance in Boston. We have seen sun a couple of times in the past couple of weeks and I’m really looking forward to spring. Last May was beautiful here…
      And ahhh again over Brahms….I love that Requiem…I”m going to be in DC again in a couple of weeks… my old chorus is singing the requiem at the end of that week…. I can’t be at the concert. Perhaps I can unearth my music and male it to a rehearsal and sit in the back and hum along… iI don’t know yet if that will be possible… we’ll see…\
      cheers!

  4. March 4, 2010 8:20 pm

    Dear Liz, I think your blog is beautiful. What a special place to share, to move forward through your pain and thoughts and dreams. Just wanted to thank you for stopping by to comment on my blog and wish you well on your blogging adventure and the alternative CanSer treatments. Blessings and healing!

    • March 4, 2010 8:45 pm

      Dear Kathy,
      Thanks for the visit to my blog and your sweet words! I really enjoy reading your blog and am in awe of the 200 comments that you received on your how to get a zillion hits on your blog post… way to go!
      I’ll be back to visit your blog really soon!
      cheers
      Liz

Leave a Reply

