Skip to content

The Vitamin D Project – Where the Rubber Meets the Road

October 13, 2009

Welcome to new Ohio germs 🙂  I’ve come down with a fever and upper respiratory something.  Vitamin D to the rescue!  At lot of it.  I’m treating this as though it were flu, and perhaps it is, though mild.  I am taking 100,000 IU of vitamin D a day, and so is Tim.  I head right for the essential oils for this too.  Hyssop is one of my favorites for any kind of upper respiratory sickness.  I love my neti pot too.  Helps keep my head clear

Is anyone else reading this taking vitamin D?  Do tell!  I’ll update here with recovery progress


9 Comments leave one →
  1. angela permalink
    October 13, 2009 3:28 pm

    Yep, extra D here as well. 1,500 IU and after I get my levels tested I will go up to 5,000 a day. We are also taking grapefruit extract, its an antiviral, plus tons of C and occasionally a tincture for the flu… because in the begining you never know what it is. I came down with something last week and in 2 days it was gone, I hit it hard. For oils we did franken/myrph on the chest at night. I have read that oils and herbs counter act one another. I’ve never heard of Hyssop, I’ll have to check it out!

  2. October 13, 2009 4:19 pm

    Hey Angela! Good for you for taking D! You are right… in the beginning it is hard to tell what is going on… fever, achy, and generally yucky is all I need to convince me to spring into action. I’d love to hear what your vit D level is when you get blood results.
    Talk soon?

  3. Bob permalink
    October 14, 2009 1:41 pm

    Liz –

    I don’t take Vitamin D alone, but I think my general vitamin supplement and a lot of juices has helped me deal with what feels like sometning that would like to be the flu but hasn’t really hit hard. Alas, my advice is pretty ho-hum: sleep and lots of liquids, but I’m sure you know that. As music is a great therapy, here’s a prescription that I think you will agree with:

    “When I hear music I fear no danger.
    I am invulnerable.
    I see no foe.
    I am related to the earliest times,
    and to the latest.”

    I would never have thought so, but that is from Henry David Thoreau.

    Be better soon.

    Bob

  4. October 14, 2009 4:43 pm

    Bob –
    Thanks for the poem … beautiful
    I’m all about vitamin D and hot tea and soup and rest. And music! I even got my self to rehearsal on Monday night and it felt good to sing a few notes. Interesting to sit in front of the chorus too!

    • Martha permalink
      October 14, 2009 8:51 pm

      Just another Vit. D report. My reading was 44.3 up from 32 during the summer. I’m taking 2000 mg of Vit. D. I feel pretty well.

      My son is doing a research paper on the history of amplified sound. He feels it has had an impact comparable to the invention of the printing press.

      Get well soon.

  5. October 14, 2009 9:16 pm

    Wow! Martha, that is great! I’m so glad that you are willing to share results!
    Nathan’s research paper sounds very interesting…I know nothing about the history of amplified sound. His conclusions are worthy of much discussion. It is so much fun to think about!
    Ok, I’m up way too late 🙂 nite nite zzzzzz

  6. Martha permalink
    October 20, 2009 4:35 pm

    Dear Liz,

    I continue to pray for you. Have you overcome your upper respiratory malaise?

    We have a few utterly gorgeous orange trees against of sea of late fall dark green.

    I hope this finds you with enough moments to enjoy His creation. Blessings.

  7. angela permalink
    October 21, 2009 9:12 pm

    Hi Liz!

    Got my vit. D test results back. My score was 41.9 and I have been taking
    1,500 for a couple months. I know that is in normal range but I have read it is better to have in high normal. Not too sure how much to take now.

    Hope you guys are feeling better.

    Angela

  8. October 22, 2009 6:01 pm

    Hi Martha! The trees here are beautiful, and just getting to be past prime. The two in front of the house are golden yellow. I love sitting on the upstairs porch with the leaves right outside the windows!

    Angela, good for you! 41.9 is a good score!
    All the reading and lectures I’ve been watching seem to say that adults can take 5000 IU a day. Just get a blood test from time to time 🙂 And, since you just did, you can see where your serum calcium is right now, and go from there. I’m so excited that you were willing to contribute your score here. I think it is an encouragement to others who may read this to actually do something about their D levels.
    I just heard news from a friend, that her friend with breast cancer had a vitamin D score of about 18. Yikes! It is pretty common for people to have very low scores.
    I hope you keep us all posted!

Leave a Reply

