Skip to content

Back Home Again!

August 31, 2009
by

I’ve been computer-free for the last few days as I finished up my trip.  Let’s see…things to tell, and I’m sure I will forget something…

I did get to see the ocean!  Did I say See?  heck, I got pretty wet 🙂  Mom and I went and had about 30 min before the beach patrol asked us to clear the beach because of lightening…The sky looked really dark and I knew a storm was close… the waves were great and water really warm…About the warmest I have ever felt…I can remember being in the ocean off Cape Cod in August, and the water so cold that my feet would cramp.

Later that day Mom and my sister and I went for dinner to start celebrating my sister’s birthday…had a great time…so nice to see her.    Had a treat when my cousin, Nancy made a special trip down to Beachwood to visit…That was really nice!  In the afternoon I drove up north and visited the cemetery…wanted to see the stone at my father’s grave…very nice…

Many thanks to Mary Lou and Nancy for putting me up for the night.  Mary Lou, who was home,  took really good care of me, fed me breakfast, and packed me off for the drive home with lots of water and fruit.

Extra special treat, I got to see both of my brothers and their respective wife and girlfriend, on Saturday night.   What a nice meal and the company was great!  Thanks, Rich and Ed, for dinner 🙂

It took all day, yesterday, to drive home…8 1/2 hours, including a quick stop at the grocery store on the way home….I got home at 5pm.  Total miles for this trip, 1,600.  I am pleased that everything that I wanted done on this trip, I got done.  Now, Today, time to straighten things out at home and look at mail and try to catch up on the million little chores that never end…and…maybe a nap?

I have not forgotten about writing about the live blood stuff that I did with Donna…stay tuned!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    September 1, 2009 10:13 am

    Liz –

    It’s good to hear that you are safely back home. How come just reading about your trip makes me feel exhausted? Guess it’s the 1600 miles. Your traveling alone reminds me of the St. Christopher medal my mother always hung on her rear view mirror or on her key chain. She often drove six or so hour trips alone to our summer home in Vermont or to visither parents in Boston. I knew Christopher is the patron Saint of travelers but never read about him, so I looked him up on Wikopedia. Check him out; it’s quite a story. E-mail about music coming along.

  2. Martha permalink
    September 4, 2009 10:50 am

    It’s Sept. and you are back home. You have so much on your plate! How are those rays working on you Vit.D levels? What have you harvested in addition to relationships from your garden? Praying for you and revelling in the thought of how music brings you and Tim such joy.

  3. Rich permalink
    September 8, 2009 7:44 pm

    Your welcome

Leave a Reply

