Skip to content

Still Traveling…Part 2

August 28, 2009
by

Ok, so now it is Friday and I’m in New Jersey.  Pretty easy drive.  Plans changed a little…I’m seeing my sister tonight.  Really looking forward to it. 

I had intended to offer updates on some of the medical stuff going on…so here goes with some if it…

The dermatologist does not think I have Lichen Sclerosis (big yay).  I had actually had begun to suspect some other type of opportunistic skin disturbance…some kind of fungus or rash or something, and had begun to treat it with essential oils that are anti fungal…and it worked!  I’m feeling much better the past month or so.  And now, with confirmation that all looks good, I’m one happy camper.  If I need to see her again, I will not have to wait so long.  As a bonus, she inspected all my skin, said it looks great, and praised me for being smart about getting Vitamin D from the sun!  She even knew that optimum levels are well over 60…The word is getting out.  She even knows how effective essential oils are. 

Wednesday the oncologist Apt went well…Port flush and labs…should have the lab reports by next week.  I was able to get huber needles for the port…just in case I’ve not been able to secure an oncologist in Ohio.  I’ve got a recommendation now, and intend to call as soon as I get home.  I’ve had the name for a little while.  I have a good feeling about this one.  I’ll know when the time is right.  I have to be in a good mental and emotional place to be the most effective in negotiation for myself.  If push really comes to shove, I can still get the labs I want…The oncologist in Virginia can write a labcorp request and I’ll just show up at labcorp for a blood draw.  I’m hopeful that that will not be necessary.

In a seperate post I’ll tell about my visit with Donna…I think it deserves it’s own post.

So…This morning I’m planning to go see the ocean…There are supposed to be thunderstorms this afternoon.  It is going to rain this morning…no worries…I have not had my feet in the ocean in about 5 years.  It will be fun!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    August 29, 2009 7:18 pm

    I hope the sand and the sea refreshed you and the jellyfish kept their distance. It is wonder full that you are stepping into uncharted waters, pursuing healing and finding time to laugh.

    My prayers continue for your journey.

  2. August 31, 2009 7:42 pm

    It was so good to see you for lunch! Not a jellyfish in sight! I love the metaphor … similar metaphor from Walt Whitman…”Sail for the deep waters only”…Words to live by.

Leave a Reply

