Skip to content

Still Traveling…

August 24, 2009

Pretty busy trip…I only have a few minutes now…Just a few thoughts and reports…

The drive out went very well…Thermal Scan done on the way…report to follow in a couple of weeks.  It is great to back in norther Virginia and Washington DC…can’t say I miss the traffic though 🙂

Am seeing friends and familiar places…very restful to the nervous system to see people I know and love.

RC workshop on Thursday and Friday very useful…and, again, wonderful to be around people with whom I have had relationships with for the past 15 years.

Saw the surgeon today…she did a VERY thorough physical exam…She can’t feel anything…I could tell she was very happy about that.  In fact, halfway through she paused and then said “Oh, that’s a rib…ribs are good!”   I can tell you that she left no rib untouched 🙂 We talked about surgical options later, and she gave me a note for an MRI when I’m ready.  She is totally on board with my plan as it stands.

I’ve been staying with Jessie and Sue, and last night I stayed out in Fairfax with Ruth.  We had a great visit, and Ruth came with me to the Doctor today.  I am so grateful.

Tomorrow I get to see Martha for lunch and then the dermatologist!  I was able to move that appointment to tomorrow from NEXT week.  I’m so glad, that will mean that I will not be away for so long.  I am still going to sing Elijah tomorrow night…Ruth is coming with me and I’m hoping that another friend from my old chorus will join us.  Then I’ll stay the night out in Fairfax, and see the oncologist on Wednesday morning for port flush and labs…and an order for a PET scan if I feel that I need to.    Following that, I’m planning to go to the Falls Church for the Wednesday noon service…(yay), and then visit with another friend for just a bit after that.  Then I’ll be going back to Jessie’s house and sleeping for the next week…just kidding…

I’m on my way to bed…just thought you might want to know that all is well and going as planned.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Hillstrom permalink
    August 24, 2009 9:45 pm

    I’m glad you are having a good visit and good doctor experiences. Give me a call if you have any extra time. I’d love to see you.

  2. August 25, 2009 7:57 am

    Hi Mary! I would love to see you! Is there any way you could make it to Falls Church Pres (on Broad Street)to sing tonight? Have you sung Elijah? They start at 7.
    We are so due for a visit, and I have just run out of time…
    I’ll be back home next week…let’s set a time for a visit by phone next week…I’m planning to be back here next March..(if not before) Talk Soon!

  3. Bob permalink
    August 25, 2009 9:02 am

    Liz –

    It’s great to hear so much upbeat news. I laughed about the ribs, wondering how I could hold up without feeling tickled (literally). Considering how I react to tickling, it would probably make the doctor’s job pretty difficult!

    I am green with envy that you are singing Elijah tonight, as I imagine that it will be a pretty good group of singers. I’ve sung it a open sings a number of times and a few parts in serious performance in a church choir. It is a pretty exciting experience. Hope you have some good soloists; let me know how it goes.

    Please say hello to Sue and Jessie for me. I really enjoyed meeting them. Jessie reminds me of some wonderful Virginia people I have known over the years. By the way, if Sue has some good pix of the BCF concert, might she or you send some to me? That would be neat.

    Sorry not to get back to you sooner; some pictures are coming by e-mail, probably later this morning.

    Cheers and prayers,

    Bob

  4. August 25, 2009 9:23 am

    Hi Bob…I will say hello to Jessie and Sue from you! I think Sue is bringing some film to be developed today, so I have not seen any BCF pictures yet…
    I’m looking forward to seeing pictures that you send…no rush though, as I don’t have lots of computer time this week anyway…
    Elijah will be fun…just a pick up chorus, we’ll just blast through and have a great time!

  5. Bob permalink
    August 25, 2009 2:17 pm

    Liz –

    I figured Sue’s pix would be digital. If so, you/she can e-mail me whatever you want. If not, tell her just one or two will be fine, and thanks.

    “Lord God of Abraham, Isaac and Israel!” Enjoy!

    Bob

  6. August 31, 2009 7:44 pm

    Hi Bob! The Elijah train wreck of a sing was great fun…I forgot so many parts!
    “Thanks be to God, He lavith the thirsty land”

  7. Bob permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:27 am

    Oh, my — “lavith”!! I had to search four Google pages to find out what it means. Old testament texts are amazing.

Leave a Reply

