Skip to content

The Vitamin D Project…Part 2

August 7, 2009

Progress!  As of July 14, my vitamin D level is 59!  At the end of last April it was 35.4.  I’m very happy about this, and still working to get the level to 80, or even 90.  60 is really the very minimum that I should score.

At the end of this month I’m planning another round of blood work…I’ll have another Labcorp test…that will show me serum calcium too.  If I can ever remember to do it,  (hi Donna, I know, I know :)) I can keep an eye on whether I’m dumping calcium by checking urine ph.  If it gets alkaline, that is not a good sign…

Meantime, since I’m home now…it’s back to “the beach”.  I’m loving the sun!  It just feels so good!  And, it is really good for my mood and overall outlook on life, which, I can tell you, needs some help on some days.  And, man, what a tan!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    August 12, 2009 10:32 am

    So when are you showing your tanned self on the East Coast? We’ll be exploring the Rocky Mtns next week. I trust the Rachmaninoff is still coursing through you.

    Teenagers certainly make life more interesting: with driver’s license a year of high school to go and the FUTURE looming beyond. It is quite a ride for us all.

  2. Bob permalink
    August 12, 2009 11:17 am

    Liz –

    Sounds as if you have sun to bask in. It’s back to clouds and showers here. Not much vitamin D in that! BTW, the Lehrer News Report had a piece on the importance of doing what you are doing to get Vitamin D. There’s probably nothing new in it, but you can see it on the PBS website.

    I still hear Vespers in my head (Magnificat especially), and I didn’t even sing it. My voice coach and I talked about it at my lesson yesterday; I still hadn’t come totally back to earth.

    We went to Montreal over the weekend. Visited Notre Dame, a great venue for singing some day. Also Christ (Episcopal) Cathedral, with fantastic music.

    Cheers,

    Bob

  3. August 13, 2009 8:39 pm

    Hi Martha 🙂 Looking forward to seeing you the last week of August! Enjoy your trip to the Rocky mts..and driving lessons, and college, and…..fasten your seatbelt!

    Hi Bob…Thanks for the tip about the news hour vit D story…I’ll check it out! We are having great sun here. Still doing our 30-40 min a day in it…communing with the ants and bunnies in the yard…the bunnies are more fun..
    I am still enjoying the glow of the vespers too…We created quite a spell…the power of the music in live performance is overwhelming. I’m so glad that you write so well about it! this was a spiritually powerful experience all around.
    Glad to hear that you have had other good church music experience in Montreal…good organs?
    cheers!

  4. Rich permalink
    August 14, 2009 5:11 pm

    I’m so glad that the BCF went so well. I know you were looking forward to it….

    P.S. Whenever I hear Rachmaninov I can’t help but think about “Willie Wonka”
    RBM

  5. Rich permalink
    August 14, 2009 5:14 pm

    Also, Larry is living on Becon Street in Brighton…

  6. August 14, 2009 9:28 pm

    Hey Rich 🙂 Willie Wonka huh?…ok, ok…it’s on my netflix list for sure now…right at the top…have to know…
    Becon Street…That is right in the middle of everything in Boston…right? Good for him!

    • Rich permalink
      August 19, 2009 6:00 pm

      the T stop is across the street. Ah, to be young, single and have your own apartment in a city.

Leave a Reply

