Skip to content

Grace

July 26, 2009

I have sad news to report…My Brother-in-Law, Roy, died Friday night, after a very long fight with ALS.  He was a great man, with a wonderful appetite for good food, laughter, and family fun.  I cannot tell you how sad we are.

I am at the Birkshire Choral Festival because of grace.  Grace can be hard to define, and as I write, I have trouble bringing the words from thoughts and feelings into print.  It is a gift given out of love.  In this case, Karen (my Sister-in-Law, for those not close to our family),  released me, with her blessing,  to sing the Vespers.  Karen is one of the most gracious women I have ever known.  Even in the midst of her grief, she knows what is important, and how to take care of the living.

I am forever grateful, and will spend the week singing this sacred work with the devotion it deserves, and as an offering of prayer for Roy and all our family.

Thank you, Karen

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    July 27, 2009 10:06 am

    Dear Liz,

    What a painful and holy time this must be for you. My prayers are with you in your grief and for the beauty of the music to minister to you. My prayers also go out to Karen and her family and to Tim as you mourn and reflect on Roy’s gifts to all.
    God be with you, comfort you, hold you steady as you travel.

  2. Bob permalink
    July 27, 2009 2:06 pm

    Liz –

    How beautifully you express your feelings of both sadness and appreciation for the love and support from your sister-in-law. Grace seems just the right word for it. I don’t think we always recognize grace when it comes to us.
    Our thoughts are with you and Tim, whom I will be calling on more mundane matters. There is certainly so much in the Vespers that is inspiring, and I hope the singing is getting off to a good start.

    Bob

  3. Pat permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:50 pm

    Liz, thank you for so thoughtfully sharing this sad news with us. Please accept my deepest sympathy to you and Tim yet again this year.

  4. July 29, 2009 5:57 am

    Pat, Yet again is right…let’s have peace and quiet life for a little while…worth praying for huh?
    I hope you are doing well! I always love to see comments from you…

  5. Martha permalink
    July 29, 2009 12:46 pm

    Thhose Russian words have quite a combination of consonats, especially at a fast tempo. Transliterated Russian adds a lot of vowels and consonants. In Russion shch, tz and some others are just one letter.

    So glad to hear the massage was healing and relaxing.

    It never occured to me that directors would dream about the beauty of the they are directing music. A nice compliment.

    I am so glad you are mastering and bathing such precious words and sacred music.

Leave a Reply

