Skip to content

Birkshire Choral Festival Countdown, and A Few Domestic Updates.

July 22, 2009

3 more days!!!!!  I leave on Saturday.  Planning to take the drive in two days…I need to arrive on campus of the Sheffield School in the afternoon on Sunday.  This whole process, of desire to sing this magnificent work, and audition, and waiting, and acceptance, and waiting, and living with the music for the past year has been one of the best of my life.  Of course, Dale Warland is going to kick out butts next week as we get more than an hour of accapella singing performance ready…I’m expecting to work really hard, and love love love every mininute of it.  Warland has shifted the composition of the chorus a bit…I’ve been learning the Alto I part…Warland wants the chorus evenly divided into Low Med and High voices…The music director has put me in the low section…That is good news and not so good news…the good news is that I can sing on only one staff…the other good news is that I’ll get to sing the doxology for sure.  The not so good news is that I’ve been studying the alto I part and now I’ll sing the Alto II part… Rachmininov wrote some beautiful music for the alto voices. (gotta love that!)…And, I’m thinking that when they get us in the room and figure out how we sound, there may be some further moving around of the voices.  Sooo flexibility is the name of the game…

On other domestic news fronts…I am officially licensed to drive in Ohio…Last Wednesday we went to Motor Vehicles and I got a driver license and took the eye and knowledge tests and registered and inspected the car.  whew…glad that is done.  The staff were extraordinarily nice and helpful, and the whole process took two hours…  A big milestone.

And, today, the landlord is sending someone to hang some pictures for me…Last night Denice and I re-arranged the living room a bit and marked the walls to hang some pictures…I just know that that will make a really big difference in the feel of the place.  I am so thankful for the help.  It is good to get another set of eyes to look at the place and consider composition and feel of the room and the whole apartment.

I’m kind of on the run this morning…soo…I’d better stop writing now…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    July 22, 2009 10:42 am

    Liz,

    So glad to hear about little victories, like DMV and picture hanging as well as the wonderful stuff, Rachmaninov.
    must be a little unnerving wondering which part you will sing and a glorious chance to experience the music iin greater depth. Have a marvelous time. I look forward to hearing about the results.

  2. July 23, 2009 7:18 am

    Hi Martha! One little victory at a time 🙂 The Apartment looks more like home now…I’m delighted. I’m so excited about the festival, and a little nervous…a few nerves are a good thing…I love this…and I may be able to post to the blog from there…we’ll see what the schedule and wireless access allow…
    Miss you…I’m planning to come in to DC area at the end of August…are you around? Maybe we could check out the Sunflower Cafe…!

  3. Martha permalink
    July 23, 2009 9:50 am

    Liz,

    Yes,I’ll be around at the end of August. The Sunflower sounds like a lovely idea. You can email me the details.

    Revel in producing and being bathed in glorious music!

  4. July 23, 2009 8:34 pm

    Yay! It’s a date 🙂 I’ll email or call closer to the middle of August and we’ll set a time.

Leave a Reply

