Skip to content

The Thermal Imaging Study Results

June 8, 2009

Well, life has been very busy here, and most of it fun and good.  Every time I sit down to write something here, I simply don’t have time.  However, I must say something about the thermal imaging study.

The results show high risk of something going on in the left breast.  This is the same one as before.  This is not a diagnostic tool, it shows that there is an area of heat indicative of a blood supply forming.  The report says that these finding can precede a diagnosis by conventional means by several years.  In my case the result is TH-5 on a scale of 1 to 5…hmmm. this means that there is is almost certain that there is something going on in that small spot that the MRI picked up.

Here is the plan right now…I’ve spoken with my surgeon in Washington DC.  She says go have a good time at the Choral Festival (yippee…and try to stop me :)), retake the thermal imaging study within 90 days as they recommend, and then come on back to redo the MRI.  I’ll have to decide about surgery.  There are several options…I can have the 6mm area removed, or I can have a mastectomy.  Have to say I’m not very excited about either of these options.

If I have the lumpectomy again, it will involve a biopsy AND a needle localization.  I’m not happy about this because if this is cancer, piercing it will get it into the blood stream and it can go wherever it wants…not a good thing, and I’ve already allowed that to happen twice already.  I’ve yet to get information about if a needle localization is required for a mastectomy.  If it is not, that may be the way to go.

Sorry that I’ve had this news for a couple of weeks now and have not updated the blog.  It actually takes time and emotional energy to write here, and I’ve been trying to get my feet under me and have balance and rest and a new garden and new friends, all if which are going really well.

Sooo…I am going to publish this now and try to get back soon with the plan to get this area to resolve. (already in progress)   if you are praying, you know what to do…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. angela permalink
    June 8, 2009 11:04 pm

    Prayers sent your way. That really stinks!!

    Glad to hear though how well you are adapting to your new home. Our crazy life should be settling down here soon and we will have to get together.

    Angela

  2. June 9, 2009 7:46 am

    Hi Angela! This stinks, indeed! thanks for your encouragement. When are your children finished with school?
    Can’t wait to see you…and give you your dishes back! thanks again for bring some food to us on the day that we moved…it was sooo good

  3. Martha permalink
    June 11, 2009 8:22 pm

    Dear Liz,

    What a bummer. I am glad you get to sing your heart out soon. I am praying for healing and wise counsel.
    Love, Martha

  4. June 12, 2009 7:48 am

    Thanks, Martha! I am so excited about the choral festival 🙂 I’m still having trouble getting the text of the work out of my mouth as fast as it needs to be spoken…
    I love it that you are praying…thank you

    • Martha permalink
      June 15, 2009 10:23 am

      Dear Liz,

      The Rachmaninof Vespers was glorious! I know enough church prayers and enough Russian to have gotten really wrapped up in the music, enveloped might be a better word. Your colleagues did a wonderful job. Though the pianist had so much attentive sitting to do. Pronouncing Russian well is a challenge along with singing it with the right dynamics. I loved the precision of the endings. The different prayers were extremely varied musically. Some were just plain fun. I can see why you love it.
      I went by myself because life was simply too hectic. Next time I’ll make sure to invite others to come with me.

      Thank you for this gift. Keep singing those holy, healing words.
      Love,
      Martha

  5. June 17, 2009 3:51 pm

    Oh, Martha, I’m so glad you loved the concert! Sure is beautiful music! and oh my, so much text. Thanks for your thoughtful comment.

Leave a Reply

