Skip to content

City Kid

May 31, 2009

So…send me out to the garden center to get a few bags of sweet peat and what do I come home with? (you ask?)  Two very large bags of raw horse manure…and some sweet peat.  This very nice woman asked me if I wanted some manure…I know that manure is very good for gardens, so I said yes!  Well, she jumped into my car, we drove to the next door to her farm, and she gave me two large bags of it…free…Well, now I have to compost!  Can’t put that in the garden raw…will burn the roots of the plants.  Just learned that by the way…much to learn.  I love having my hands in dirt.

I met the horse by the way…well, one of them…very pretty though I’m afraid of them…I like horses though I don’t know how to read them… boy are they big…Anyway, he kept following me around,  putting his nose into my neck and hands…novelty of meeting some new I guess…

Sophie and I planted a couple of tomato plants and some basil .  Yesterday I found more basil and a couple of zucchini  at the local organic farm.  they have also agreed to sell me a half bail of organic hay for a few dollars.  Mix with the manure, and spread on the garden to keep it wet and the weeds away.

I must go now…Just thught you would get a kick out of these stories 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    May 31, 2009 1:59 pm

    Hi Liz,

    So glad to hear you are getting your hands dirty growing a garden. How does your car smell now? Horses are big and sometimes a little unpredicatable.

    I hope you got a chance to worship today, Holy Spirit Day.

    Happy gerdening. I look forward to your next posting.
    Martha

  2. May 31, 2009 8:03 pm

    Hi Martha! The car is fine…no smell! Happy Pentacost to you too! We have found a small Anglican church. Very nice people. We’ve been a few times now. I’ll say more later…
    More gardening done today!

  3. June 3, 2009 9:55 am

    I’m so envious of people who live where it’s warm enough to get a garden in now! We’re still freezing at night.
    My dad sells well-rotted manure, which is odourless and in big demand with the gardening set.

  4. June 3, 2009 12:36 pm

    Hi Beck! Welcome! I’ve been told that the last frost date around here is May 18, and there were frost advisories right up to that date. I’ve gotten half the manure out onto the ground where it should begin to age…some of it looks kind of old, mixed with some pretty fresh stuff. Ahhh…good country air 🙂

  5. Bob permalink
    June 7, 2009 11:06 pm

    Your story reminds me of when I was a kid in Vermont and a local farmer would dump a wagon load of the stuff on our large garden for my Dad and us to spread around. If not too fresh, horse manure at least isn’t as strong as cow or chicken, so you shouldn’t have to wait too long to use it. The nitrogen should make the basil jump with joy! Once the tomatoes grow bigger, they may benefit from something with a different chemistry — maybe less nitrogen and more phosphate, I think. Can’t remember what natural fertilizer to use, but my buddy who runs a farm may know and I’ll pass along his advice.
    Just picked my first crop of cilantro and made guacamole. Basil is next; dill is slow this year.
    More on music in an e-mail.
    Cheers to you both.

    Bob

  6. June 8, 2009 8:17 am

    Hi Bob! How was the wedding? Any chance that pictures could be sent to my personal email? I have not posted in some time…way too much to do here! and lots of it fun. We’ve got tomatoes, basil, cilantro, kale, beans, zuchinni, sage, and I’m sure to forgotten something. There are three of us working on this project.
    Would you know why the bottom leaves of the tomatoes would turn yellow? I have no idea the ph of the soil. it is basic clay (but not red clay) with lots and lots of worms (yay). We tuned it over and mixed it with sweet peat, and water it with a organic fish based liquid fertilizer.

Leave a Reply

