Skip to content

Thermal Imaging Study

May 19, 2009

I know this is not much warning to those of you who pray…I’m going to Pittsburgh tomorrow for a thermal imaging study of my breast.   I was expecting to have to wait a couple of weeks for an appointment.  As it turns out, only a couple of days.

thermal imaging detects areas of heat in the breast.  There are two things that I want this test to do…first, does it detect the 6mm thing that the MRI did?  (remember, that no one can feel it, and no one can see it on ultrasound)  And then, is that mass developing it’s own blood supply.  Tumors need their own blood supply.  Of course, I’m praying that there is nothing to detect!

This is a simple, and highly effective test that uses no contrast dyes or radiation, and does not compress the breast, so no trauma to tissues.

I’m expecting that the drive will be about three hours each way…kind of a long day.  It usually takes about two weeks to get the report and pictures back.  It is possible to get them faster, I’ll see about cost.  I was planning to go to this place this year anyway, from Oberlin it is MUCH closer!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Hillstrom permalink
    May 19, 2009 8:05 pm

    Hi Liz,
    I’ve been away, so today is the first chance I had to read all your postings about the move and today’s posting about your Pittsburg trip. Your new hometown sounds wonderful, with lots of friendly neighbors and beautiful music!

    Congratulations to Tim on his retirement. Maybe you can both switch into retirement mode and relax and take a long leisurely time to unpack and set up the apartment.

    I wish I knew someone in Pittsburg for you to stay with so you could spread the drive over two days. You’ll be in my prayers, both for the drive and the results!

    Lots of love,
    Mary

  2. angela permalink
    May 19, 2009 9:50 pm

    Hope all goes well!! There are 2 great places in the area that do thermal imaging as well. I will be having it done in place of a mamogram in June. They are 2 MD’s from the cleveland clinic who are now naturpaths.

    Why Pittsburgh?

    We have been meaning to call but Scott has been traveling and the end of the school year is always so crazy for us!! Hope the settling in is going well.

    hope to see you soon
    Angela

  3. MOM permalink
    May 20, 2009 9:20 am

    I’m stunned!! I had no idea!!
    Me

  4. Bob permalink
    May 20, 2009 10:34 am

    No need for a lot of lead time for a prayer. Done!

    It was good to read that you still have a garden on your agenda. Gardening is almost as good therapy as singing. I put out all my tomatoes and such Sunday, then we had a frost warning Monday and I had to cover them up with old sheets, but it’s worth the trouble.

    More on the Vespers CD by e-mail.

    Best of luck in Pittsburgh.

    Bob

  5. MOM permalink
    May 20, 2009 2:21 pm

    The trip to Pittsburgh is not a great deal of fun–I had just left a message on your machine–thought you had gone for a walk–
    You know you walk in my prayers–

  6. Martha permalink
    May 20, 2009 3:37 pm

    Dear Liz,

    I hope you have the same beautiful day we have here and are more relaxed now that your Pittsburg trip is over. I pray for clean(no evidence of trouble) and accurate results.

    You and Tim are in my prayers.
    Martha

  7. May 22, 2009 6:27 pm

    Hi! Thanks for all the comments and good wishes, and prayers…Sorry, MOM about not much warning…:) I figured that I would make the appointment and then have about two weeks to get the word out….I had fewer than 48 hours…
    It was funny, kind of, when I told the doctor after having my hands in the ice water, that I was sweating, she said “oh yeah, you are in shock” I thought…Oh, maybe that is why I feel kind of funny! haha! Still better than a mammogram!
    Have a look over in funny stories and jokes, Sherri posted advice about mammograms there…look back in may 2007…VERY funny.
    Gardening is next…I’d love to get a few simple things in the ground, and some herbs.
    hi Angela 🙂 I’d love to hear more about the docs you are talking about…:) See you soon?

    • Bob permalink
      May 23, 2009 7:31 pm

      Want some dill and cilantro seeds? I have a lot harvested from last year that I haven’t been able to give away.
      Shock from hands in ice water? Wow, sounds wild.

  8. May 23, 2009 8:43 pm

    Hi Bob! I’d love the seeds! There are a few of us, now, who are going to dig some ground and plant some things over at our house. I love cilantro…actually make a really good pesto with it 🙂 A little hemp oil, brazil nuts and sunflower seeds and lots of garlic…really good! Stick it all in a blender and off you go.
    yeah, the ice water…normally you would want to take your hands the heck out of the water! I sure wanted to 🙂
    I’ll send email soon…

Leave a Reply

