Skip to content

Oi Vey!

April 21, 2009
by

Remember the MRI I had last Monday?  The one that I was not the least bit concerned about because all other news has been wonderful?  Well, here we are, more than a week later, with the doctor out of the country, and the receptionist (I’m trying really hard not to shout here) calls this morning telling me that the doctor is concerned about something and wants a bilateral ultrasound.  Oh, and by the way, her right hand person, (who is just terrific btw…no sarcasm here) , is also not in the office.  This happened this morning at about 8:45.  Oh great!

So, I called the hospital and they gave me apt for Thursday morning (when the packers are supposed to come).  As it tuns out, I had an apt this morning with my onc…routine blood work etc…I told about this to the physicians assistant…a really sweet and efficient woman…She called the hospital and had them instantly send the report, and then they got me apt for the ultrasound at noon.  Amazing…

So, I finally got food around 11 this morning (fasting bloodwork)  and went off to the hospital.  I saw the MRI pictures…there is something, 6mm, left breast (same one as before)  just to the left of the incision site…The radiologist could not see it on the ultrasound.

She told me that this could all well be benign…or a recruited lymph node..(that would be good since I lost so many)…or…could be something to be concerned about.  my doc gets back next Monday…Let’s see what she says…I’m not in favor of being cut…especially if there is any chance that this a lymph node.  Meantime I have some blood results to get back for yet another bit of data.

Here are the options as I see them…Do extra surveillance…another MRI in a month or so…see if there are any changes…or see if it could be seen in ultrasound…  The biopsy, if they do it right now, is called an MRI Needle Localization with Surgical Biopsy.  I’m sure it’s as much fun as it sounds.

Anyway,  it has been a heck of a day.  If you are praying, you know what to do.  I went to rehearsal tonight and had a great time singing the Vespers…it is wonderful, and I am so looking forward to singing it this summer at the choral festival.

As always, and before, when life gets scary, like now, I like funny things…remember?  this might not be a bad time to revive my requests for funny jokes  and favorite movies (light and funny).  Feel free to visit the funny stories and jokes page of the blog…In fact, I think I’ll be spending a little time there myself…I’m remembering a few really funny things from those comments right now.

Ok, must go to bed now…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Cain permalink
    April 22, 2009 10:53 am

    I went to a Care for the Caregivers group session last evening at St. Hilary’s. The reading from Matthew 11:28-30 was the opening prayer and the response was: Comforting God, we praise you for your soothing word. Plant its seed deep within us that we may always find consolation there. Loving God, we know that you are with us every day, in every way. Fortify us on this pilgrimage of life.

    I’m also looking for a couple emails I received recently that would give a smile. Talk to you soon. Karen

  2. Bob permalink
    April 22, 2009 4:41 pm

    … favorite movies (light and funny) …

    You already have What About Bob and When Harry Met Sally, two of my favorites.

    How about The Princess Bride. No one says “inconceivable” like Wally Shawn. Then there’s an incedible lineup of great actors in the original Sabrina (Bogart and Audrey Hepburn). Breaking an egg will never again be a routine cooking procedure. And just about any Alec Guiness movie. Try The Horse’s Mouth. Or The Lavender Hill Mob. Also, Peter Sellers in The Mouse that Roared.

    My chorus director has some great jokes. I’ll pass a couple along.

    Cheers and prayers to you both.

  3. Mary Hillstrom permalink
    April 23, 2009 12:11 am

    Do you have access to your email? I just bombarded you with humor there. Hope it’s not too much. Hope it lifts your spirits. And I mostly hope that your doctor can give you good news soon.

  4. Martha permalink
    April 23, 2009 4:04 pm

    Liz,

    What a tough way to live this week! I’ll send you some pictures you might enjoy. Earnest prayers for peace and wisdom. Love,

    Martha

  5. Richard permalink
    April 23, 2009 6:49 pm

    Jeez! Just what you need right now. Take it one day at a time (or 5 minutes at a time).

    Rich

  6. April 24, 2009 9:26 am

    Well, Liz and Tim, talk about polishing your “Hanging In There” skills. What a surprise you didn’t really need at this particular damn time. Oops. The funniest thing (LOL-funny) I watch these days is “The Office.” I catch it on DVD, but the current season is good too. It might cut a little too close to home for Tim, though how great it will feel to be merely a spectator to Office antics, rather than an active character in (victim of?) them! You guys take care and stay afloat and flying forward on the many good wishes of your friends like me…..xoxoxox…..Meg

  7. Pat permalink
    April 25, 2009 11:49 am

    I hope the packing and moving went well. Here is a link to the Reader’s Digest website that has cartoons and jokes. You don’t need to sign in to read the funny stuff. readersdigest.com/funnycartoons. Best wishes, Pat

Leave a Reply

