Skip to content

Holy Gallbladder Cleanse, Batman!

March 7, 2009
by

Whew…Finally did it!  The three day gallbladder cleanse!  Actually, for me it was a four day thing…Two years ago I had no idea about this stuff.. I  learned about it  right after the cancer diagnosis and was just too busy and had too much other healing and other detox stuff to do.  Also, I really listen to my intuition and my body in these things, and I had a strong sense that it was just not the right time.  On top of that, I found out what you might have to do to actually DO this cleanse, and I said woah!  I don’t know if I can actually do that!  Then, a couple of weeks ago, I had a flash of intution again, and knew that the time had come.

I’ve never known much about gallbladders….my general sense was that they really were not very important.  After all, doctors take them out all the time!   Don’t they say that you will never know the difference?…Boy do I have new information for you now!

Turns out, you really, really need your gallbladder for digestion…it is really not an option, or easy to live without.  Now, keep in mind that I’m not a doctor…so no big words…Simply put, your gallbladder helps digest oils and fats, and it neutralizes acids . It works with the liver.  If you do not have a gallbladder, you will have no way to neutralize the hydrochloric acid made by your stomach.  In fact, you will never be able to break down the oils that you eat, at all.  And in case that is not enough, you won’t be able to emulsify your cholesterol either.   Sooo all that stomach acid,  that you can’t buffer anymore, will hit your intestines like fire, and, I can guarantee you that you will have exactly 30 seconds warning that you need to get to the bathroom or you are in trouble (and you know what I mean)  So, let me say again, think twice if you hear your doc tell you that you do not need your gallbladder.

All that being said, our usual diets and the acidic conditions of our bodies, cause stones and fatty deposits to form in our gallbladder, and back up into the liver.  Seems the gallbladder gets full and pushes stones into the liver.  hmmmm….. Now, the object of the game is to clean that stuff out.  As always, best to do it before you have a problem 🙂

So, how to get those stones and other gunk out you say?  HaHa…I’m going to tell you!  Before I do though, I want to caution you.  I think you want to do this with supervision.  Different people are in different stages of health and sickness.  I can tell you that a colon that is actually working well is pretty important for this process.  This really will dump stones out of your gallbladder and liver…it is good if they have somewhere to go 🙂  Contact Donna Mitchell at His Design for Health (see the link on the right).  Make sure you follow direction exactly.  I had Donna guide me through the whole process .  She is the best.

First of all, those stones have to be softened up…a lot…You can do this with apple juice with phosphorus in it. Add the phosphorus…1oz per gallon of juice.   Use unsweetened, unfiltered apple juice.  Look in your local healthfood store or whole Foods…comes in a gallon glass bottle.  Get two.  Drink at least a quart a day…the more the better…I think I had about half a gallon a day…remember, the more apple juice the softer the stones 🙂  Do this for three days.  On the third day, in the afternoon at 2pm and 4pm, drink epsom salts in warm water.  I have to say that this was  perhaps the most disgusting thing I have ever eaten, and I have a high tolerance for bad tasting stuff.  Hold your nose and do it…it relaxes the sphincter muscle on your gallbladder….that is a very good thing…For dinner, make whipped cream with berries (my favorite part…I miss whipped cream) Eat as much as you want…yippee!  This will get your gallbladder working…promise.  Then at 9pm drink 1 cup of olive oil with fresh lemon juice in it. Make it 1/2 lemon juice and 1/2 olive oil.   Then immediately lay down on your right side with your right knee as tight to your chest as you can get it.  Stay put, do not get up, for 30 min.  Don’t cheat on the time.  The olive oil will cause your gallbladder to spasm…it does not hurt.  The next day the stones and other gunk will pass.   Don’t be surprised if you fell a little nauseous…I did…all night…a little yucky.   I got a colonic the next morning…boy, I mean to tell you…yikes!  lots of stones and gunk.  The therapist said it looked pretty toxic.  I’m glad to be rid of all that.  I felt better right away!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    March 7, 2009 2:03 pm

    Liz,
    Sounds like quite a procedure. A cup of olive oil will certainly offer your gastorintestinal system a lot of lubrication. Are you back to your usual diet yet?

    How are you otherwise? I’ll call soon.

    Martha

  2. March 7, 2009 2:22 pm

    LOL! and oh God, wait till my mother reads this! (hi Mom)
    I’m well…waiting for scan results again…hate that…
    Are you free to meet at sunflower? I’m always on the mood for that veggie soup with rice noodles….

  3. Martha permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:15 am

    Hi Liz,

    I am ready this Friday or any day next week. You pick.
    Blessings
    Martha

Leave a Reply

