Skip to content

Finally March…

March 2, 2009
by

Ok…I’m back…I can’t tell you how encouraging it has been to see that so many have been checking my blog in the last month, even though I have been MIA…Thanks!  My heart just hasn’t been in it.

I thought I would, at least, begin to catch everyone up on the latest news and plans…First of all, WE HAVE A HOUSE!!!!!  We closed last Thursday.  There was lots of last minute running around…the sellers agent was not doing her job very well, and the title company suddenly realized on Monday that we were closing on Thursday…yikes!  And, there was a young couple living in the house and no matter how we tried, we could not get information about when they were planning to leave…The broker stepped in on Tuesday when Tim raised the roof.  Everything got done in the end and we sent the signed papers off with UPS on Wednesday night.

We had fabulous help with this part of the project…first of all, our real estate agent, Ed Von Hofen (866)369-8158.  Ed is a really nice guy.  Totally calm…He had to do an awful lot of extra work for not much pay.  We cannot say enough good things about him…  And, very special thanks to Rachelle Geimmett , of  Rachelle Geimmett’s Agency,  (440) 647-2700, who worked magic to get us insured.  This one was tricky because we are not going to live in the house and are planning to demolish.  Underwriters get nervous about that.  Anyway, we had a policy in place and then the underwriter turned it down…Rachelle got us another, even better policy, in time for the closing!  I was amazed and so happy.  I recommend these two very professional people.  They both went out of their way to help us get this job done.

We will move at the end of March (but could be into April…long story that I’ll write later)…Still working out the logistics.  I think we will use the same guys that packed our storage containers…Store to Door…We can hire them to pack us here in Arlington and put our belongings in a storage bin.  Then they can put the storage bins…all of them…on a flatbed truck and drive them out to us.  They can do this on our schedule, so we can get ourselves out to Oberlin and then receive delivery, instead of racing them out there same day as they load the truck.  I can’t tell you how much I am looking forward to seeing the stuff that has been in storage.  I’ve been itching to sell some of it for a long time, and some things, like my favorite dishes and linen table cloth and a couple of really nice mohair afghans, I just can’t wait to use again.  Our new apartment has been painted and the kitchen and bathroom floors have been replaced and a new sink, vanity, and medicine cabinet are in the bathroom…nice.  Since we are planning to have a few days to see the place empty, I’ll be able to have some idea about where furniture will go before movers get there.

Later this week I’m scheduled for another PET scan…prayers are appreciated…in fact, I’d better go now and check the progress of the approval…I’ll let you know.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    March 2, 2009 9:47 am

    Wow,

    Things really are falling into place! I’ve checked your blog almost every day. Is there a way for you to know that when I don’t post?

    I’m praying for your PET scan.
    Praise God the source of all blessings.
    Martha

  2. March 2, 2009 10:46 am

    Hi Martha! thanks for the prayers about the PET scan…not the most fun.
    Wordpress gives me a number, per day, of how many views I’ve had of the blog…I can’t tell who it is unless there is a comment. If I were ever to move to another provider, or establish my own domain, I think I might have better information on who is reading the blog. right now, I just feel really encouraged to see the graph every day.

  3. sheilamiller31 permalink
    March 2, 2009 11:42 am

    Congratulations on the closing! WOOOHOOO!!! Thats exciting. I am sending prayers and healing thoughts for your PET scan.

  4. March 3, 2009 8:01 am

    Hi Sheila! Thanks for stopping by with congrats about the house 🙂 Have to follow up with the radiology practice to make sure my approvals are on track…Yesterday everything was closed for snow. calm is the watchword for the day.

  5. Pat permalink
    March 3, 2009 5:30 pm

    YAAAY! I’m glad for you that the first major issue is now accomplished. What a gigantic feat! I hope you both can relax now for a while. My prayers are with you for the PET scan.

  6. Bob permalink
    March 4, 2009 11:57 pm

    My prayers are with you and, being an optimist, these words of Peaceable Kingdom (actually Isaiah)also come to mind and seem so right for you:

    “Ye shall have a song, and gladness of heart.” And so may it be.

    More by e-mail tomorrow.

    Bob

Leave a Reply

