Skip to content

Very Sad Family News

December 14, 2008
by

Tim’s mother, Mary, has passed away early this morning.  Though she has been ill for a very long time with Alzheimer’s Disease, losing her is very shocking.
Tim’s mother was always a strong support to him…Always encouraging , providing accessibility materials during all his years of schooling, and believing in him.

We are both really sad about this.
We will be going to Ohio in a couple of days.  At this point we are awaiting information about when and where the funeral services will be.  When we know, we will post information here.
Though I  drive this blog…Tim frequently reads it.  He will read any comments that you might leave here.
Please keep Tim, his sister Karen, and the whole family, in your prayers.

Update:  Funeral services will be at St. Paul’s Roman Catholic Church, 1580 Brown Street, Akron, OH.,  on Wednesday December 17th.

Calling hours will be at the church at 12 noon, Mass at 1:30, followed by a reception, at the church, after mass.

Another Update:  Tim and I are leaving town this evening and are expecting to be away for the rest of the week.  In fact, Tim is after me now to pack up the computer…we will check email and blog as we can through the week. There is simply no time to be online right now.

Thank you, so much for all your kind and loving comments…We are overwhelmed by your support and love during this time.  You are the best!  Tim will be on here in his own words, though it may have to be after we get home again.

Please keep us in your prayers as we travel and meet with family and say goodbye to Mary.  And, in the catagory of “When it rains, it pours”, we are planning to make an offer on a house in Oberlin later in the week.  Scott and Angela went yesterday to see it and the reports are good.

Another Update: It is Thursday now…The funeral, though sad, went very well yesterday….Tim delivered a eulogy that disolved the whole church in tears…well done!  All the 2008 new babies were there…cute!  We are well, and traveling to Oberlin to see a house at noon today…Thanks so much for your continued prayers…I’ll keep updating here as I can…

37 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina Sims permalink
    December 14, 2008 5:53 pm

    Oh Liz, I’m so sorry to hear this. Sounds like she was an amazing, strong woman. It’s never easy losing loved ones, no matter if they’ve been sick or not. Will send lots of comforting vibes and say a special prayer for Tim and your whole family.
    Lots of Love .
    Your cyber sister,
    Gina

  2. Andra permalink
    December 14, 2008 6:22 pm

    So very sorry to hear of the loss of your mother, Tim. You will certainly be in the prayers of many of us from the crazysexycancer site at this time of loss. please have a wonderful holiday, perhaps in special celebration of your mom this year. may god’s grace envelope you, liz, and all of your family.

    Warmly,
    Andra

  3. Lana permalink
    December 14, 2008 6:25 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. I will keep you all in my thoughts and prayers.

    Blessings,
    Lana

  4. December 14, 2008 6:30 pm

    Liz, Tim and family… you are in my thoughts and prayers during this difficult time. Loads of love, hugs, prayers and good energy headed your way. I’ve been reminded today to focus on the memories and celebrate the life of the one you loved even though you will be mourning the loss. xoxo Carrie

  5. Vanessa permalink
    December 14, 2008 6:42 pm

    Sorry for your loss. i am certain she was very lucky to have you all in her life.

  6. Laura permalink
    December 14, 2008 7:19 pm

    Tim and Liz ~ so sorry to hear about the loss of Tim’s mom. I lost both my parents 13 years ago and although it is easier, I NEVER stop missing them. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Laura

  7. December 14, 2008 7:28 pm

    So very sorry about the loss of a dear mother and mother in law. Nothing fills their spot, but I always think of my mom when I see a butterfly or a hummingbird, she loved them. I like to take comfort in thinking that maybe one of them is her spirit, coming to say hello!
    good wishes to you both in this difficult time
    deb xooxox

  8. Blessed permalink
    December 14, 2008 7:52 pm

    What a sad time for you and your family. Your are in my prayers tonight. May you feel the peace and comfort and be surrounded by the love and support of others through this difficult time.

  9. Austin permalink
    December 14, 2008 8:13 pm

    I’m sorry to hear of Tim’s mother passing. I pray that you both treasure the happy memories in this time to get you through. I’m sending much love and many prayers to you and for you!

  10. Laura Brande permalink
    December 14, 2008 9:02 pm

    I am so sorry to hear about the passing of Tim’s mother. She sounds like she was a remarkable woman who made a strong impact in the lives of whom she touched. I am sending love, strength, healing hugs and prayers to you through my smiles across the miles. You are in our thoughts and in our hearts. Much love!
    xoxo
    Laura…. your crazy sexy sister!

  11. Cheryl permalink
    December 14, 2008 9:09 pm

    Dear Tim, I am so very sorry to hear about your Mother. Both my husband and I lost our fathers under very different circumstances and it is never easy. My thoughts are with you. I so enjoyed meeting Elizabeth at Kripalu; she is very special.
    Cheryl

  12. December 14, 2008 9:48 pm

    I recently came across this beautiful poem I’d like to share with you. I do not know the title but it was written by Henry Van Dyke:

    I am standing upon the seashore. A ship at my side spreads her white sails to the morning breeze and starts for the blue ocean. She is an object of beauty and strength. I stand and watch until at length. She hangs like a speck of white cloud just where the sea and sky come to mingle with each other. Then someone at my side says: “There she is gone.” Gone from my sight. That is all. She is just as large in mast and hull and spar as she was when she left my side, and she is just as able to bear the load of living freight to her destined port. Her diminished size is in me, not in her. And just at that moment when someone at my side says: “There she is gone.” There are other eyes watching her coming, and other voices ready to take up the glad shout: “Here she comes!”

    May peace be with you. xo Lori

  13. December 14, 2008 10:18 pm

    We were so sorry to hear, Liz. We’ll be praying for you and for Tim.

    Love you!

  14. Lanae permalink
    December 14, 2008 10:27 pm

    Now matter how old we get, our Mom’s are still “Mom”. I am so sorry Tim for your loss and you also Elizabeth. I lost my Mom in April so my heart aches for you. Like Deb, roses, butterflies, sunsets tell me she is fine and happy. Take a moment for those things and find what fits your Mom. You will carry it always. Please know you and your sweet wife are in my prayers as is your Mom. With love, Lanae

  15. December 14, 2008 10:28 pm

    So sorry for your loss.
    Peter

  16. Bren From Rivendell permalink
    December 14, 2008 10:41 pm

    Liz and Tim, So sorry to hear about your loss. It must be extremely difficult especially at this time of year, I can only imagine what you are feeling. But I will be lighting a candle for you and your loved ones and placing it in a place of honor on the altar of Rivendell in memory of your mom. Take care of you and know that you are being held in the arms of Creator and are very much loved by all in the community. Especially by the keepers of the Healing House of Rivendell…we love you so…Blessed be my brother and sister…may you find peace that passes all understanding and bask in the memories of the love that has been shared as part of her legacy. I’m sure you will pay it forward. Much love, **~** Bren

  17. Liz Emmett-Mattox permalink
    December 14, 2008 11:00 pm

    Tim and Liz,

    Lots of love and cyber hugs to you both. Wishing you good weather and safe travels to Ohio.

    Liz

  18. Genie permalink
    December 14, 2008 11:20 pm

    I am so sorry to hear this sad news. I know full well that is always hard to lose a loved one, no matter how old or how sick they might have been.

    At this time you feel the grief for all that was lost, the good years, the bad, the disease that robs then kills.

    Time, of course, will be healing. Meanwhile, for this moment, allow yourself to grieve.

  19. December 14, 2008 11:40 pm

    Hi Tim!
    I’m so sorry for you loss. I can’t imagine what that must be like. I know one thing though, you have a wonderful wife, which means you must be a wonderful man, which means your mom raised a wonderful son. She must have been very proud of you and felt very at peace for having left the world such a wonderful person to carry on her spirit. Wishing you the best this holiday season.

    Best
    Bueller

  20. angela permalink
    December 14, 2008 11:54 pm

    We were shocked by the sad news as well. If you guys need a place to stay know that you are always welcome at our house.

    love and prayers
    Angela

  21. Goony permalink
    December 15, 2008 12:04 am

    Tim & Liz,

    I am so very sorry to hear that Tim’s mom passed away. I know how difficult getting through the upcoming days will be, having so much sadness in your heart and so many memories running through your mind. I will keep you both in my prayers.

    sincerely,
    Jennifer

  22. Sweetlife permalink
    December 15, 2008 12:43 am

    Dear Liz, Tim & Family,
    I am so sorry for the pain you are feeling right now. Tim’s mother sounds like she was a very loving person who was always there for her family.
    Continue holding each other up…
    With love,
    Sweetlife/Jenny

  23. December 15, 2008 1:59 am

    Liz and Tim,

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. If I were a poet I might have something profound to say here, but alas I am not. I only know that losing a mom is always the hardest part. From the time we leave her womb to walk this life alone, we remain an intrinsic part of her and she of us. So gather your memories and grieve. My prayers go with you as you walk the long walk to healing that only time holds the key to. God bless you both.
    Love & Ciao bellas!
    Paula

  24. skyecat permalink
    December 15, 2008 5:13 am

    hi Elizabeth and Tim,

    I am sorry to hear of your loss Tim (mom) and Elizabeth (mother in law)…

    I pray that you both get through this with faith, strength and the knowledge that your mom is at peace and rest.

    Take care.
    Deb

  25. Ellie permalink
    December 15, 2008 8:28 am

    Hello to both of you…love your new pic…sorry to hear of your great loss. Alzheimers is such a cruel disease as it slowly steals away that person away from us. My mom is in a moderate situation with dementia…she is somewhat functional, but sometimes doesn’t know what day it is. Physically, at 81, she could still mow the lawn if we didn’t stop her!
    I pray for great grace and strength for both of you. Remember, the joy of the Lord IS your strength.

    Much Love,
    Ellie

  26. December 15, 2008 10:09 am

    Liz and Tim

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. You and your family will be in my thoughts and prayers.

    Much love and hugs to you,
    Sheila

  27. December 15, 2008 10:47 am

    Tim, I’m very sorry to hear about the loss of you mother. My father died of a dementia type illness and it was quite difficult. The loss of a parent is certainly never easy.

    Our prayers and thoughts are with you and your family.
    Bert & Daniela

  28. Sandra Arnold permalink
    December 15, 2008 1:10 pm

    Tim and Liz – You and your family are in my prayers. It is never easy, is it! Even when we know it is coming, it comes as a shock in our hearts and souls!
    much love
    Sandra

    Death leaves a heartache no one can heal,
    love leaves a memory no one can steal.
    ~From a headstone in Ireland

  29. Ymelda Martinez permalink
    December 15, 2008 1:15 pm

    Dear, dear Liz and Tim,

    I am so sorry to hear about this painful loss. Please know that I am praying for you both at this time, asking the Lord to carry you through your mourning and grief. May He grant you travel mercies as you go to the funeral. And may He bless you abundantly, wrapping you in His loving arms.

    Love and prayers,
    Ymelda

  30. December 15, 2008 1:19 pm

    Tim, Elizabeth and Family,

    I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your mother. May beautiful memories sustain you all during this time of sorrow.

    Holding your hands in my heart,
    Tina
    (tinainthepink)

  31. Liz R permalink
    December 15, 2008 3:13 pm

    Liz and Tim, I’m so sorry to hear about your Mom. She and each of you will be in my prayers. It is so painful to say goodbye to our Moms.
    I will pray for your strength and courage to get through this. Your love will carry each other.
    I will also pray for a safe trip for both of you. Peace, Liz R

  32. Judy Walls permalink
    December 15, 2008 7:58 pm

    Liz and Tim, I am so sorry for yor loss and will keep you in my prayers. Judy

  33. Martha permalink
    December 16, 2008 12:23 pm

    Dear Tim and Liz,

    May the Lord bless you and comfort you as you, your extended family mourn your mother’s death. Tim, I thank God for all your mother gave you which you share with others. I met her briefly at your brother’s funeral. I remember your mother as a short, dignified woman. George and I are praying for you as you travel this difficult road. We know that time with your family can be a special blessing.
    May His peace and the music of advent and Christmas touch your grieving hearts and give you peace.
    Love,
    Martha

  34. Mary Hillstrom permalink
    December 17, 2008 9:38 pm

    Dear Tim and Liz,
    I am sorry to hear of your loss. My heart goes out to you.
    I am glad that you have each other as well as caring family and friends to support and comfort you through your grieving.
    Love,
    Mary

  35. Jane permalink
    December 17, 2008 11:33 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. 😦 Peace, Jane

  36. Bill Eller permalink
    December 24, 2008 8:34 am

    Tim,
    I’ve been thinking about you and Liz. Our prayers are with you through this holiday season. It is these kinds of holidays that reaffirms our humanity when the depth of our sorrow is beyond description. While we share life now, some day we will share eternity and be reconnected with all those we love who have gone before us. May God be with you. Our love, Bill and Helen

  37. Lola Beth White permalink
    December 27, 2008 11:23 am

    Tim & Liz …

    My thoughts are with you with your loss and I pray that each new day brings you comfort. May God bless you richly during the New Year and may angels watch over you and keep you safe under their wings.

    Many hugs,
    ~Lola B~

Leave a Reply

