Skip to content

Agave Nectar – Natural Sweetener Scam

November 24, 2008
tags: ,
by

Word to the wise….I just read this and am so furious!  Agave is marketed as raw and a safe sweetener…what is this about it being highly processed and sweeter than high fructose corn syrup and every bit as unhealthy for you?!  I avoid high fructose corn syrup like poison.   Just a couple of months ago I got a small bottle of agave and have used it once or twice…no more!

Read it and weep

http://www.naturalnews.com/024892.html

7 Comments leave one →
  1. angela permalink
    November 24, 2008 10:18 pm

    I was surprised by this too. We use it to make granola bars for the kids in place of maple syrup. I won’t use it any more either we will stick to the pure, organic maple syrup. Stevia is a good choice but it is not always a good choice for baking. I think stevia has an after taste too. Oh well, we do what we can!

    I know its best to stick to whole food but its just not easy all the time!

  2. November 25, 2008 8:24 am

    This is so frustrating. I bought some for a recipe a while back and used the rest of it in the kids’ smoothies. I hadn’t bought it again because it was so expensive, so I guess it’s just as well!

  3. November 25, 2008 1:14 pm

    Angela, I wonder if Raw Honey would work as well. if you heat it gently, not above 118 degrees, you can preserve the enzymes, and it will spread further. Raw honey is cloudy and can have pieces of hive and other stuff in it. It is sooo good! Very complex taste. I use a stevia liquid “NOW” brand. Has an orange color label. No bitter aftertaste. Got it at the healthfood store. The bottle with the dropper is the easiest one to use. The smaller bottle with the plastic insert that liquid drips through was a pain in the neck…I could wait all day for one drop and it made it hard to measure.
    I’m on the hunt for a maple syrup that is not overly processed. Grade B seems better than grade A. I’m wondering if there is something less processed than grade B. Let me know if you come across anything.

    Hi Sherri…have you tried stevia?
    I’m glad I’m not the only one annoyed by this story!

  4. angela permalink
    December 2, 2008 11:04 pm

    So now I even wonder about stevia. What goes on in the processing of it especially the liquid? If raw agave nectar is not good then how can we trust anything else?

    Raw honey might be great or raw maple syrup….is there even such a thing?

    The more whole the food the better and everything in moderation for sure. : )

  5. December 3, 2008 8:23 am

    Hi Angela!
    Stevia is a pretty easy plant to grow , and fun to chew on the leaves 🙂 I have plans for an herb garden…lots and lots of basil, rosemany, stevia…the list is endless…
    I’ve been reading comments about raw maple syrup…so far no one has found it. I think grade B is best…not as processed. At least it is a real sugar.

  6. December 7, 2008 9:53 pm

    I kicked agave to the curb, parting is such sweet sorrow!
    It’s wee bee raw honey or really raw brand honey for me!
    love deb

    • December 8, 2008 9:48 am

      Kristen’s Raw has been talking about using dates. I think I’ll experiment a little with that. Stevia is still my best choice…

Leave a Reply

