Skip to content

A Raw Food Restaurant Virgin No More!

November 3, 2008
by

We’re home in Arlington again!  Pretty easy drive yesterday, with a very nice surprise…We found a raw food restaurant, just off the PA Turnpike!  I could not believe my eyes when I saw the sign on the road!  Happily, there was another sign just before the exit and we could get the number.  The food was amazing!  We sampled a few dishes.  The food was really pretty.  We had a pate made with cauliflower, sweet red peppers, onion and celery that was just wonderful, and had the consistency of tuna fish salad.  Time to fire up the vita mix and try to make that one 🙂  We brought some home.  Thank God there is someplace good to get food on the trip.  Food choices on the road are awful.

Maggie’s, 1262 Highway 711, Stahlstown PA 15687 (724)593-5056 (Traveling west, it is just past Somerset.  They also have a location at 300 South Craig Street, Pittsburgh (412)621-8200.  Go There!

So, now for the house stuff…That historic house I mentioned in the last post is back in play, though a very long shot.  It needs so much work,and the bank owns it (we think…are still checking on that..there have been conflicting reports) and is asking too much for it.  This house has one closet …(yes, you read that right)…sigh…in the whole house!  It does have nice flow though, and it is clear that it needs someone to love it.  No one can touch it because of the cost of the work it needs.  We’re going to see if we can find out if offers have been made and why the deal did not go through.  The house does not have radiators, though I have learned that if we want them, it is easier to do the plumbing for them with a new kind of flexible hose that is easier to run, and less expensive to install than the hard pipe plumbing…so that is an interesting possibility.  Tim would love to install radiant heat in the floors.

We have been told that about 40% of the homes in Oberlin have radiators.  In fact, we saw a very sweet house…just the size we are looking for, with radiators!  It is not, and never will be on the market…it is just encouraging that there may be others like it.  We went in this house looking at a kitchen project in construction.

Oh, and for anyone keeping score of miles driven…this trip was 840 🙂  No more interstate driving for at least a week!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. angela permalink
    November 10, 2008 10:21 pm

    Yum!!! Sounds good, I wish there was one around here!! I need to find a good raw cookbook!

    We are hoping you two find the perfect house real soon!

    : )
    Angela

  2. November 11, 2008 8:07 am

    The Raw Food Detox Diet has some good dishes in it…and some salad dressings that I really want to try out 🙂 I’m getting a resource list of a few things together to post to the blog.
    Oh, keep praying for the house 🙂

  3. November 14, 2008 6:38 am

    I think Amala is good rich natural source of Vitamin C. I m telling you as i read in your ABOUT section something about Vitamin C. Also Broccoli is good for fighting with cancer.

    http://natureblessing.blogspot.com/

  4. November 17, 2008 11:13 pm

    I love broccoli, especially in juice…so sweet and mellow. Vit c is really effective in the fight against cancer, for sure. I’ve been taking directly into my blood so I can take 50 grams at a time. If you take it by mouth you can only take about 5 grams before you reach bowel tolerance.
    I’m so glad that you have come to visit my blog! I hope you come back!

  5. November 18, 2008 2:45 am

    Thanks for visit.

    I get very jealous of all your wonderful, vegan and raw food restaurants. We just don’t have them here so often land up eating a boring French salad when out.

    The old houses, although many need major repairs done, are great as they tend to have decent size rooms and high ceilings.

  6. November 18, 2008 1:30 pm

    Hi Jackie! I’m hoping that there might be a raw food place opening around me too…so far, nothing…
    Am learning how to make some myself!
    I’m so glad that you came by for a visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

