Skip to content

Concert Tomorrow!

June 6, 2008
by

Thank God for music!  And, thank God I’m finally feeling better!  NPC is singing Britten’s War Requium tomorrow at the Strathmore Music Center.  I’ve been dragging my butt through the season this year, until this last couple of months.  I can tell that things are better because I am not as tired at the 9pm break, AND I have more of this work memorized than the other two new ones this year.  I’m off book for most of it.

The War Requiem is gorgeous!  Dramatic, complex, and I love tritones!  The orchestra is really good. The end of the Libera Me is so dramatic and desperate in it’s plea that it is possible to feel the loss of all war dead and the pity of war at it’s deepest level.  It is devastating.

Gosh, if you are reading this and can come on out tomorrow night…please do!  You will be pleased.   If this one doesn’t give you chills and tears I’m not sure what it would take…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

