Skip to content

The Healthy Life Plan – Rebounders

May 22, 2008

Boing…boing… boing… bounce, bounce, bounce… Yay! I’ve got a rebounder! We’ve borrowed this one and have a lead to buy one that someone bought and never used…

Basically, a rebounder is a mini trampoline. All you have to do is jump up and down on it…easy, right? Well, talk about feeel the burrrn oh my! I think my legs are going to really appreciate this.

Ok, here are a couple of things that are good about rebounding…It is a lymph system cleaner. The bouncing creates G force on the body.  At the top of the bounce there is no gravity, at the bottom there could be 4G’s. (sounds like an astronaut huh? Don’t worry, I’m not jumping that high!)  that moves lymph with hydraulic pressure.    Lymph carries metabolic waste products, and things like heavy metals and cancer cells and dead tissue, fat, and viruses and other garbage that the body need to get rid of, to a site in the pulmonary bloodstream so they can be eliminated. The thing about lymph is that, unlike blood, which uses the heart for circulation, lymph has no pump. YOU pump it by moving your muscles. Bouncing on a rebounder helps that happen, and it is easy on the joints because there is no harsh impact.

besides moving and shaking lymph, rebounding is great for strength and balance, heart health and bowel function. Honestly, what’s not to love?

Right now I can do 10 min at a time. The good news is that the effects are cumulative. So a few min a couple of times a day is really good. I’m really excited about this! Circulating lymph is really good for your health.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2008 2:23 pm

    I’m glad you’re feeling so…bouncy!

    Your enthusiasm is contagious. I kind of want one now. I bet the boys would love it, too.

  2. May 22, 2008 2:35 pm

    whew…I need a nap!

  3. Mary Hillstrom permalink
    May 25, 2008 7:55 pm

    You are inspiring me to use my rebounder, Liz! Thanks!!!
    Also, I went to a Laughter Yoga session in Olney, MD, on Friday night – It was GREAT! We’ve got to find one in VA to go to. It’s another excellent and fun way to treat your body well. They said that 20 minutes of Laughter Yoga is the equivalent of 45 minutes of aerobic exercise and it has lots of other benefits as well. I’ll choose it over “exercise” any day!

  4. May 25, 2008 9:41 pm

    Don’t you just love that thing? I read that 20 minutes on the rebounder is equal to 40 minutes of jogging and I definitely believe that. It packs a serious punch!
    The one I have came with a CD with three different workouts on it and they go over the proper way to jump- not up but pushing the balls of your feet down into the rebounder. I don’t use the CD workouts any more but I got the basic moves and now just do my own.
    Happy jumping!

  5. May 26, 2008 8:29 am

    Hi Mary – Thats it! We have to go together! We can go to Olney if there is nothing in VA. This sounds like so much fun. I love to laugh…remember the song? I wonder if we’ll all float up to the ceiling?!

    Jill! thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! I don’t have any video with the rebounder that I borrowed…but there is at least one with the used one that I plan to buy. I have not been able to find anything to rent from netflix.
    Do you wear shoes? I’ve tried both ways…I’m way more in touch with pushing down with the ball of the foot without shoes. It is quite a workout for the foot so I’m building time slowly. With shoes my foot does not flex as much. thoughts?

  6. May 26, 2008 11:41 am

    Hey Liz!
    I got a rebounder yesterday 35.00 at Big Five!
    I also wrote an article about rebounding that is supposed to be posted today at la2day.com!
    See how this stuff just flows?
    crazy huh?
    deb

  7. May 26, 2008 2:05 pm

    Debbie – Dare I say Great minds? I’m off now to read your article! Lots of love…

  8. May 26, 2008 6:52 pm

    I think it’s cool either way- shoes or no shoes. I’ve tried both and am partial to wearing very flexible, light tennis shoes, but no shoes is kind of freeing. I’m such a barefoot kinda hippie chick anyway.
    How about if I try to upload the DVD onto my computer and send it to you? I think it might work. I’ll let you know if I get it uploaded, then you can give me your email.

  9. May 26, 2008 8:28 pm

    Jill – I would love to see the video! I was on the rebounder this afternoon…barefoot…I really don’t like shoes…I never wear them in the house…and don’t get me started on how I hate WOMEN’S shoes! It’s me and my birkinstocks all year long! (One of these days someone is going to turn me in to the fashion police!) I may alternate sneakers/no sneakers so I don’t stress out my feet on the rebounder. They don’t have to work so hard in shoes.

Leave a Reply

