Skip to content

Updates for the week

April 30, 2008
by

Ok, I think it is safe to write now…Tim and I are going to Ohio next week on Wednesday. We come back home Sunday. I was afraid I’d spill the beans here on the blog before we were ready to say we were traveling.  We’re going to look at a couple of houses in Oberlin.  There is one, in particular, that I am interested in.  have not seen inside pictures yet.  The outside is very nice…and it has radiators, and a sleeping porch.  Both those things are on my wish list.   The price is too high right now, but if this is the house…something will happen.  The other house is a rental.  It is a duplex…hopefully side-by-side.  Don’t know.  Two apts.   Tim has met, at least by phone and email, the woman who has already leased the smaller of the two apts.  (and who told us about it)  She is an anthropology professor going to teach at the college.  She lives here in DC right now.   I’m looking forward to meeting her as soon as she finishes editing a dissertation for a friend.  Big project.

This week is taken up with insurance issues, and diagnostic tests.  Blood work and and an MRI.  Not the most fun in the world.  It will be all done soon and I’ll have some results to post here. The MRI is tomorrow morning.  I have to be there at 7:30 for an 8am appointment.

I did make a great find this week…I found a wicker laundry basket!  I’ve always loved them, and thought I might get one since we can do laundry here at the house now.  The more I learn about plastic, the less I like it.   Then I changed my mind because we don’t  really have much room here, and what I have for laundry is working fine.  It’s just a knit duffel bag thing…nothing fancy…we’ve had it for ever.  THEN…On the way home Monday, trash day, I saw one at the curb around the corner.  At first I drove past it, then thought “you know you will be sorry if you let this one go”.  So I drove around the block and picked it up.  Perfect condition.  Something dirty was on the inside bottom of the basket so I scrubbed it with Murphy’s oil soap and essential oils of clove and cinnamon.  Much cleaner!  It might need it one more time.  Then leave it in the hot sun, when we finally get some hot sun.  I’m happy to give this great basket another home!  And it was FREE!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. sheilamiller31 permalink
    April 30, 2008 6:48 pm

    Don’t you love those curbside finds? My husband is always bringing home perfectly good furniture, etc that people have just abandoned. I’ll be sending you good healing vibes tomorrow, I hope it goes well!

  2. April 30, 2008 8:56 pm

    Hi Sheila! thanks for stopping by, and for the good wishes! I still have a couple of things that I picked from the trash back when I was in high school. The local town used to have a couple of times a year when folks could put out special stuff.
    So much better than in the landfill

  3. angela permalink
    April 30, 2008 9:22 pm

    Great find on the basket! We are looking forward to seeing you both next week. If you need anything just let us know!!

    Here’s hoping for a smooth week of testing! : )

    Angela

  4. Pat permalink
    May 1, 2008 9:41 am

    I LOVE roadside finds! Your basket sounds great. I found a chest of drawers a few months ago with no knobs. I took it home and put my old kitchen knobs on it, and now it is ready to either put off-season clothes in or donate to Homestretch.

    Good luck on the house-hunting!

  5. May 1, 2008 10:12 am

    Angela – We are looking forward to seeing you! Could be Saturday the 10th?

    Pat – Love that community recycling thing. It will be great to actually see some houses in person. I just know there is one out there!

  6. sheilamiller31 permalink
    May 1, 2008 10:43 am

    Thanks Liz! I linked you on my blogroll as well. I hope your MRI went smooth.

  7. May 1, 2008 11:57 am

    Yeah, the MRI went well…the sticks for the contrast dye was the worst part. My veins are hard to get sometimes. Results soon. I’m so glad to be linked to your blog! The more networking, the better.

  8. May 1, 2008 3:32 pm

    BOO!

    So happy you found a basket you like. Little things like having a laundry basket you love can make life a whole lot more bearable when the Big Things get yucky.

    Good luck on the house! (She says, nobly holding back selfish pleas to staaaaaaay.)

  9. May 1, 2008 4:12 pm

    Sherri, sweetie! Did you have a great time back home? Missed you. Yes, the basket…could be God’s way of saying hi this week.
    I’m praying for no big yucky things…and flower boxes…Maybe next trash day?!

Leave a Reply

