Skip to content

The healthy life plan – Dry Brushing

March 25, 2008

Smiling SunThought it would be fun to have some conversation about things that I am doing to have vibrant health…and that you might want to consider for your own life. I have learned a lot over the past year.. there are several books that I think are useful…the one I have in mind right now is the Cancer Battle Plan Sourcebook. So far, this has been the best, most useful book that I have found. Comprehensive and easy to understand. There are many areas to discuss…healthy water, deep breathing, dry brushing (one of my favorites), juice fasting, hormone balancing with natural progesterone, essential oils and aromatherapy, and more…

I thought lets start with dry brushing! Dry brushing is really great! It helps move lymph fluids, removes dead skin so your body can more easily remove toxins. It helps break down cellulite! I read that and said yippee! Where do I get one of those! And, it feels soooo good!

You can find a dry skin brush at any health food store or Whole Foods type of place. They are usually wooden. Make sure it is natural bristle. Nylon is not good for your skin. It is too rough. Ok, here is how to do it…

Start with your extremities…Legs first. Brush upward toward your heart. Brush each section of your leg seven times. Then move on to the arms. Start with your hands and then brush each section of your arms seven times. After that, move to the torso. Brush in the direction of your heart. When you get to your back, go up and over your shoulder. The lymph system drains into the circulatory system at the upper chest.

It is best to do this before a shower. Be gentle… I like to do it in the early part of the day. It’s cheap, it’s fun, and it feels great! I would really love to hear comments about your experience with this!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg Stephens permalink
    March 26, 2008 3:40 pm

    Whew, Liz! What a relief. I saw “Dry Brushing” and I thought, eeuuww, painful – dry TOOTHbrushing! What will Liz think of next? Then I read on, and indeed this dry SKINbrushing sounds awesome. “In the direction of the heart” reminds me of my Anusara Yoga, which addresses the heart a lot – in poses, in thoughts, as the source of our light and energy, etc. Thanks for the book recommendation. I continue to learn much from your website and your experience. Continued blessings & health, Dear Liz.

  2. Angela and Scott permalink
    March 26, 2008 9:40 pm

    Thanks LIz! I love hearing about all the things you are doing. : ) I have read about dry brushing before but maybe now I’ll have to give it a try!

    There is so much information out there about detoxing and balancing one’s body that it can be overwhelming figuring out what to do next! It seems as though you have such a good program going on. Is this book what set the outline for you to follow?

  3. March 27, 2008 8:09 am

    Meg, my friend! So nice to see you here! Yeah, I don’t recommend dry TOOTH brushing…gives me that fingers on the blackboard kind of feeling (shudder). But dry SKIN brushing is really yummy. And Anusara Yoga…sounds interesting…I have some experience with Hatha. Actually I’m trying to find a yoga practice that I can do now. My shoulder cannot handle plank positions and a long time in downward facing dog. Any advice is welcome!

    Angela, Yes, the battle plan book is the starting point for everything. If you do explore dry brushing, comment on the blog! You know that spot in the middle of your back that is so hard to reach? oooohh. dry brushing put the fun in detox!

  4. Meg Stephens permalink
    March 27, 2008 8:59 am

    Liz – check out these class descriptions from Willow Stree Yoga in Tak Pk / Sil Spg MD. I love this place. You can read more about Anusara Yoga on their site, too. I have done many “Yoga 1” classes there and am about to start “Yoga for a Healthy Low Back” in April. Tho Willow St. Yoga is only in Takoma Park and Silver Spring, I’m sure there are similar classes at Yoga studios in Virginia. On this page, check out these classes in particular – custom-made for your current needs, Liz!!
    “Gentle Yoga,” “Gentle/Therapeutic Yoga,” and “Yoga for Special Conditions & Injuries.”
    http://www.willowstreetyoga.com/classes/classDescriptions.php

  5. March 28, 2008 8:21 am

    Meg – Great site!

  6. Angela and Scott permalink
    March 31, 2008 1:10 pm

    Ok, I tried the dry brushing and it hurt!!! I bought an all natural long handled brush at WF. Even though I went as gentle as I could, it felt like all it was doing was scratching me up. Did I buy the wrong brush? I imagined it would feel more gentle like a babies hair brush!

  7. March 31, 2008 1:35 pm

    It hurt?! Gentle, gentle, gentle! Nice and easy…don’t give up! I promise you will love it. Do you actually have a baby hair brush? It you do…try it out.

  8. August 15, 2011 9:28 pm

    Great post! I have been doing dry brushing ever since my yoga teacher recommended it. Found a great natural brush on sale and do it before each shower. To me it is a very pleasant procedure, another opportunity to say to my body “thank you” and “I love you”.

    I also think dry brushing education should be a part of personal hygiene course in public and private schools, just when they teach about importance of brushing your teeth and hair.

    Thank you for this post, Liz!

    • August 16, 2011 5:18 am

      Inna 🙂 Good for you! I think that you are right about teaching how to use a dry brush as part of basic education for children…..
      Many blessings and happy lymph!
      Liz

Leave a Reply

