Skip to content

To Thine Own Blog Be True!

March 3, 2008
by

Hi all!  I’ve been off learning more and more about online networking at the new Crazy Sexy Cancer forum and blog.   All new stuff for me.   Love it actually though it is completely overwhelming and big..whew.   Got my picture on there and just put one here, though I’ve only seen it on the work-page.  I think it will appear when I post!  (round of applause please)  I’m getting braver with pictures and stuff.  Anyway, I thought, hey, don’t you have your own blog?  oh yeah…better get back there!

Ok, some updates from last week….Big port news! I used the port myself! Tried on Tuesday, just one attempt, got the needle in, but not in the right place.  rats!  Didn’t want to irritate the skin too much so had the Doc do it.  It was pretty scary…drenched with sweat!  Tried again on Thursday and got it!  it’s a little difficult because it sits kinda high in my chest and I can’t see it really well.  I have no idea if I will ever get good enough to be able to do it without close supervision.  At this point I can finish the IV, flush the port and remove the needle and all that.   Sooo…the Doc is coming to my house today on her way home to set me up and I can do the removing stuff myself. Pretty exciting stuff (if you like this sort of thing)!

On Saturday night, Audrey and Richard treated me and Tim and several of our friends to a fantastic birthday dinner at their house!  Audrey has the gift of hospitality!  the table was so pretty and had happy birthday glitter on it!  Really fun!  My Mom had sent a cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory on my birthday.  I saved it for this dinner…boy was it good!  I’m so disciplined about not eating sugar that when I do (which is almost never) I really enjoy it.  Thanks Mom!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2008 9:51 pm

    Wow. I gave myself an intramuscular shot for a little over 9 months and I still got the heebeejeebees (sp?) after reading about you injecting your port with Vit C. Oof! I’m still shivering! But who cares about that – GOOD for you, Liz!!!

    I am definitely looking into IV Vit C in my neck of the woods.

  2. April 5, 2008 4:22 am

    Oh, must have forgotten to mention the heebeejeebees! Get them every time…do it anyway. You are one step ahead of me with the injections…haven’t tried that yet. thought I might for B12. Mind if I ask you for coaching when I do?

  3. April 7, 2008 9:57 pm

    anytime!

Leave a Reply

