Skip to content

IV Time

March 3, 2008
by

Well, well…I’m sitting in the living room typing away and the iv is running! Yippee! So much more comfortable than the Doc’s office where I don’t have Internet access or comforts of home!

The Intravenous vitamin C has an interesting effect on the body. It raises blood sugar. pretty high actually. I’ve checked this out with several of the health-care persons and doctors that I am working with and have been assured that this is totally normal. I have some issues with sugar metabolism, which was the primary reason that I stopped eating sugar. So when I just spot checked last Thursday and it was 280 I was pretty shocked. I took myself out for a brisk walk, and an hour later it was 100 points lower. Next morning was fine. I’m told that really high blood sugar is normal for everyone, even those who metabolize sugar well.

Ruth had a chat with Dr. M. who has just returned from a CAM conference. He told her that any form of Vit C will raise blood sugar…it is transitory, everyone knows that this happens, and no one is concerned. The benefits of the VIT C far outweigh the spike in blood sugar. Soo..I’ll be outside having a good brisk walk as soon as I get myself unhooked!

have a look at a couple of articles..

Intake of Vit C kills cancer cells

Vit C article

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela and Scott permalink
    March 3, 2008 5:17 pm

    Oh I am so happy to hear you are at home all comfy getting your IV drip! That is a very interesting fact about vitamin c and blood sugar, I had no idea.

    I have a question, how do you feel, do you feel better than just before your cancer diagnosis? Just curious because of all the detoxing you have been doing, I wondered if you have hit the good side yet.

    How is the apartment hunting?

  2. Liz permalink*
    March 3, 2008 6:58 pm

    Hi Angela – Yeah it was great to be at home! Went for a good walk and ran an errand when I got done. Haven’t tested blood sugar again. I’d tell you what it was when I finished but I know my mother reads these things and I don’t want her to faint! I’m keeping all who need to know (read medical types) well informed about numbers and recovery time.
    I have to say that I do feel better now than I did before. The diet changes, especially juicing veggies has made a very big difference. The rub with detox (as you know) is that you may not feel good when you do it. I know the Vit C moves heavy metals, and just wait till I go after the Lyme. Batten down the hatches then! I’m investigating lyme treatment that does not involve antibiotics. I’ll post about it when I get more information and it looks like I’ll do it. Right now it is under investigation.
    We (Tim) are keeping a close eye on the real estate market in Oberlin…so far nothing that we want to move on right away. Got to go…dinner time!
    Also, all the emotional and spiritual work that has gone hand in hand with the physical has helped. I don’t think I’m near done.

  3. MOM permalink
    March 4, 2008 10:17 am

    Sweet Liz–
    I believe that this always has been your strategy for maintaining peace on the homefront!! “All who need to know”, indeed!!!
    Obviously, since you have spent the better part of two years eliminating the damage that high sugars can do to your body, you are watching this closely–
    I am about to faint–
    Mom
    PS–I don’t think the Lyme has a chance against your determination!!

  4. MOM permalink
    March 4, 2008 10:20 am

    Addendum to Post 3–
    Love the pictures on the website–It really looks great!!
    Mom

  5. Liz permalink*
    March 4, 2008 11:12 am

    Mom – Wait! don’t faint yet! Ruth just sent me an email from Dr. M about the glucose testing. Very encouraging! I’ll post a copy. All is well!
    Glad you like the pictures! I think they add some great color.

  6. Peter E permalink*
    March 8, 2008 11:15 am

    Hey, Liz. Keep up the good work!
    Peter

Leave a Reply

