Skip to content

Intravenous Vit C

February 17, 2008

I’ve been wanting to begin talking about this for a while now…I know that it will be an ongoing discussion…I’ve been so enjoying the birthday break that I’ve only wanted to think, talk and write about fun things. I have really been enjoying my little vacation.

I’ve begun, again, getting intravenous vitamin C. Tim and I are very excited about this. Dr. Ayre, in Chicago (see contemporary medicine link at right) gave me some after IPT treatments last August/September. I’m now going to see a NP in Lorton. Vit C is really good at killing cancer. It helps the body make hydrogen peroxide, which kills cancer. I’ve also read that it looks like sugar to cancer. Remember that sugar is cancer’s favorite food?

Vit C also helps chelate heavy metals, and is anti- microbial. All in all, very good stuff. I’m currently getting 50 grams twice a week. This is the really high test stuff made from beets. I think I had mentioned before that since genetically modified corn in being grown, the C made from it no longer works.

It is pretty time consuming. It is not a good idea to drip it too fast, so it takes about 3 hours. Since I’m going to Lorton for this, the total time door to door is around 5 hours.

I’m learning how to set up the IV myself, access the port, and get it flushed at the end. So far I’m getting good at flushing the port and removing the needle. Of course, I’m being watched like a hawk! The real test will be setting up and cleaning up by myself without prompting. As soon as I am competent, with the permission of the supervising doctor, I want to do this at home. Really, the worst part is putting the needle into the port. I have been told that a lidocane cream will eliminate the discomfort. I think I’ll try that.

I have a few pdf files that I have been trying (hoping) to upload to this post…It’s driving me crazy!  I’ll figure it out or get help soon.  Didn’t want to delay any longer!  Look forward to great reading soon (medical journal stuff).

The past week has been very busy with medical stuff and, happily, great visits with friends!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer (Goony) permalink
    February 17, 2008 8:18 pm

    Liz,

    Hello! We met on the CSC blog. Thank you so much for the info on your Doctor in Chicago. My father-in-law is overwelmed with the support he is getting from the blog. I emailed your doctor and hopefully he will get back to me this week. I just wanted to thank you for your help. It was so refreshing to see that there are doctors out there that really GET cancer! It has given us new hope.

    Jennifer

  2. Liz permalink*
    February 18, 2008 8:11 am

    Jennifer – I’m out the door very soon for more vit c. Keep chiecking in if you can. I plan to post about some of the suppliments that I have found out about and am taking that are immune building and cancer fighting. Don’t have the time this second. Very soon! I’ll check to see if I can can find an NP in your area who deals with cancer too. (I’ll need one as well when I get there)
    We have family in Medina! Check out the posts from Angela and scott. they is totally on board with raw food and has been such a great support to me in all this!
    Give my best to your father in law!

  3. Angela and Scott permalink
    February 18, 2008 1:37 pm

    I love vitamin C!!! I will be curious to hear how you feel afterwards. I bet you feel great! I have read how it kills cancer but I didn’t know that it mimics sugar.

    I have a question, the corn based vitamin C vs. the beets is that only in IV form or pill form too? I take a food based Vitamin C and have not been sick all winter. ( knock on wood) LOL only 400 mg 2x a day.

    Can’t wait for you guys to move here. : )

  4. Liz permalink*
    February 18, 2008 7:06 pm

    Hi Angela, – yeah, it seems that all vitamin C made from corn is not as good as it used to be. I suspect that for most people who use it to just not get colds and stuff that is ok. For killing cancer it is not! There are some oral forms of vitamin C from beets on the market…Just don’t know the brand names yet to tell you. As soon as I find out I’ll tell!

  5. June 7, 2010 9:45 am

    Hi, Liz. I’m thinking about starting IV vitamin C. Can you let me know more about your experience. You can email me!

    Also, from what I understand from my naturopath, vitamin C taken orally is an anti-oxidant, but when taken IV it’s a pro-oxidant. Just something to note for those who think taking it orally is equivalent.

    • June 7, 2010 8:45 pm

      Hi Jill 🙂 I loved iv vitamin C! My source was from beets… corn is a GMO crop now and does not work… In fact, I’ve heard that sugar beets are now GMO rats! Tapioca is also a source… Have your NP check it out…
      You are right 🙂 There is a big difference between taking orally and IV… There are some thing that work better or differently if they don’t have to be digested…. Taking something through the skin, or directly into the blood is a good thing in some cases…
      IV vitamin C can be very effective in cancer treatment… and no nasty side effects!
      Can I get your email address from your blog?
      xoxo
      Liz

Leave a Reply

