Skip to content

Dreams and Goals

February 3, 2008
by

I’ve been reading Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Cancer blog the past few months. See the link at the right side of the page! A little while ago there was a discussion about dreams and goals. I’ve not gone to see The Bucket List…(great name, and I may go see it ..) though I have one. I thought it would be fun to have a little discussion here about it. I’d like to hear yours!

Let’s see…My list includes singing Messiah with a much smaller chorus and period instruments, spending 2 or 3 weeks at the Hippocrates Institute, singing the Britten ceremony of Carols (sang it in college and loved it), singing at the Berkshire Choral Festival during the summers (chorus camp! Love it! They are singing the Von Williams Sea Symphony this summer – would love to sing that again, too), learn reflexology and have a practice, sight sing really well, audition and get into the Cleveland Orchestra chorus after we move to the area. I’d also love to see Hawaii and New Zealand, and go back to Ireland. I also really love to make pottery on a wheel, I would love to have a studio and sell my work at local fairs.  I would also like to learn to play the Irish folk harp.  I borrowed a folk harp a number of years ago and really loved playing it.  There are all kinds of Irish and Celtic folk songs.  Somewhere in my files is the name of a good harp builder…These are not all!

I checked a really big one off my list a few years ago when I sang the Beethoven 9th Symphony. I had heard it live when I was about 14 years old. It just about knocked me out! I absolutely had to sing that! 34 years later…I had never forgotten…I did it! What a thrill!

What’s on your list?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela and Scott permalink
    February 3, 2008 12:29 pm

    This is fun! Great list and awesome that you’ve checked one off already. : ) I love Kris Carr’s blog.

    Mine is to have the opportunity to take photographs of the great out doors! I have always done this but need a better camera to do more. I want to become a yoga instructor. I am starting my studying now. In some capacity I want to teach others about holistic medicine but not sure how yet. There is a school in NY I would love to attend. I want to hike in the mountains and deserts, the beauty of it gives me such inner peace! Most importantly I want to continue to be a good mom and always be there for my children.

  2. Liz permalink*
    February 3, 2008 1:57 pm

    Awesome list, Angela! You go Girl!

  3. MOM permalink
    February 4, 2008 9:24 am

    Sweet Liz–This is a wonderful time to take stock and make your life what you want it to be. So often we get bogged down in the everyday and forget the dreams that make us special. Go for it!!!
    Mom

  4. Karen Cain permalink
    February 4, 2008 1:17 pm

    Liz, what a wish list. It’s wonderful. I don’t dream very often (literally). Sitting and dreaming of special things to think about is “foreign” to me. I guess this would be a good goal during the Lenten season. I have a couple booklets that I brought home from church Sunday that has some interesting topics to take time to think and talk about. I could blend these two ideas, perhaps. Love, Karen

  5. Liz permalink*
    February 4, 2008 4:52 pm

    Karen, No time like the present! Have fun – think big – Don’t listen to the “I don’t think I can do it” internal thoughts. (I call them “the committee”) – Let us know! 🙂
    Another one of mine is to write a book…You should hear what “the committee”has to say about that one! whew!

  6. angela permalink
    February 6, 2008 12:05 am

    HAPPY 50TH BIRTHDAY LIZ!!!! Have an awesome day. : )

    Love, Angela, Scott, Max and Madison

  7. Liz permalink*
    February 6, 2008 8:19 am

    Thanks Angela – you are so sweet!

Leave a Reply

