Skip to content

My 50th Birthday next Wednesday!

February 1, 2008
by

It has occurred to me that turning 50, especially now, after the last year, is a pretty big deal. The way I was raised, you might want something to happen, but would never, ever say anything about it. My secret thope would be that others would figure it out and do something. I don’t think that works for me anymore. When unexpressed expectations are not met that leaves the door open for resentment and anger. Those are two emotions that are death to me (literally).

So…hitching up my socks, and being really bold…I want a fuss at my birthday. Send cards, balloons, post like crazy to the blog, call on the phone. No presents unless for spa services or such (you know I love the buff and fluff non medical stuff!).  I would like to have cake (with candles) on Wednesday night at my house. Everyone who can come is invited. Let me know so that we have enough to eat!  And having said all that…Celebrating can happen all month…so come on over…I’m so in the mood for fun and company, and having a good time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2008 9:42 pm

    good for you! I threw myself a birthday party this year and had a great time, After a disappointing mother’s day and actual birthday it was just what I needed. Wish I could be there, but I’m single mom during the week now.

  2. Liz permalink*
    February 2, 2008 2:39 pm

    Jen – Thanks for your good wishes! I’m glad you are reading (and writing!)

  3. February 2, 2008 5:17 pm

    Liz, feel free to email me at bertscholl@gmail.com and I will gladly provide you any information I have about Gerson Therapy.

    Robert Scholl

  4. Liz permalink*
    February 3, 2008 6:51 am

    Thanks, Robert, I will!

  5. MOM permalink
    February 4, 2008 9:29 am

    Dear Liz–Re: unexpressed expectations–
    I can remember vividly that you, at age four, REALLY, REALLY, wanted a butter dish. (Okay—–)
    Sooo–Daddy and I went up to Boonton to the Melmac factory and bought a sweet blue and gray Melmac butter dish for your very own.
    It does pay to speak up!!
    Mom

  6. Liz permalink*
    February 4, 2008 12:36 pm

    Mom – that was the best butter dish ever! I’m really glad you posted this. It is one of my favorite funny stories…hope everyone else gets a kick out of it!

  7. Glenis Pittman permalink
    February 7, 2008 11:46 am

    Congratulations on your great scan news and on your 50th birthday! Double cause for celebration!! But, you don’t want me around…. I’ve caught a virus from my son who caught it from his friend. It’s contagious and it is a long one. You don’t need this and it isn’t what I want to give you to celebrate your birthday. 😉

    So, Happy Birthday and congratulations! I’ll send a card separately.

    Love to you and Tim!

    Glenis

  8. Liz permalink*
    February 7, 2008 5:36 pm

    Glennis, Hope you are well soon! Thanks so much for thinking of me and posting here. Stay tuned for the post (and hopefully pictures of yesterday.

Leave a Reply

