Skip to content

Small blessings

January 25, 2008
by

I thought I had better write tonight. My posts have been a bit more raw than usual, (though I hear from one of my closest friends that I’m falling really short on expressing how angry I am. (she is right)) and I’ve been exhausted and stressed. The tragedy threshold has been pretty low and I’ve been overwhelmed. You know, I’ve been reading some blogs and books about cancer. All have people posting and commenting and writing about the stress of the re-scan. I figured that it was true and I think I underestimated the impact. I know that re-scan stress is not all that is going on, just part of it.

There have been, happily, some nice things going on to kind of counterbalance the awful scary stuff and keep me off the ledge. Lunch with a couple of friends today…really nice. The bathroom sink has a happy resolution…it has been cleared. I finally sent an email and it got fixed the same day. Even better, the women who live downstairs don’t have any trouble. I’m so glad! these older houses can have drain (sewer line) trouble that would be a real hassle. And, I’m happy to say that the bad smell from downstairs was a candle (omg!) Tim tells me that it is not there anymore. I was never so glad to smell just the plain old stinky basement when I got home this afternoon.  And, I’ve had some help from Peter, esteemed blog moderator and adviser about all this tech stuff.  Look forward soon to a new look for the blog.   Now, goodnight! time to unplug…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela and Scott permalink
    January 26, 2008 1:02 pm

    I’m so glad it wasn’t one of those plug ins!!!! I’ve just read a book called “Exposed” by Mark Shapiro. Talks about all these dangerous chemicals. Anywhere in Europe is much safer than here!

    maybe buy your neighbor a healthy candle to burn. We have a diffuser you plug into the wall and you can put pure essential oils in it to scent the room or to use for holistic remedies.

    Here’s hoping for a smooth week ahead for you and that all dr.’s and machines will be will do things right the first time.

  2. Liz permalink*
    January 26, 2008 3:54 pm

    I have some essential oils and a couple of natural and neutral air fresheners that I will share if they are interested..
    Thanks so much for the Oberlin drive by today! We are looking forward to the pictures!
    You guys are the best!

  3. Cheryl Andrews permalink
    January 28, 2008 12:19 am

    Dearest Liz,

    Have been thinking of you and praying for you and wishing your road was not so painful these days. You and Tim are so brave. I hope you have a dart board or a punching bag ( ok, maybe a treadmill or an exercise video would be a more positive outlet…but sometimes a good primal scream is just what you need 🙂 to release some of that stress over the stupid stuff.)

    I’d love to see you and celebrate our birthday month soon… when I get back from seeing John in Missouri next weekend.

    Peter got rid of our land line, so my cell is my only phone. 703-307-2757. You can get me at work at 703-288-8688.

    When is the best time of day to call you? What is your current address?

    Hugs and blessings,
    Cheryl

  4. Liz permalink*
    January 28, 2008 9:00 am

    Love it, Cheryl! especially the dartboard and primal screaming parts. call anytime! I’m intending to celebrate this birthday all month.

Leave a Reply

