Skip to content

A Jump on January

December 30, 2007
by

I’ve got that January itch a little early this year! My dear old friend, Ron, always called January “get it together month”. I love the clear the decks work that January brings out in me. Simplify life. Discard anything that is not being used. Clean out the closets and cupboards and drawers, eliminate the clutter. The mice caused some of that work to happen early. I turned out most of the dresser drawers and moved most of the furniture to clean under and behind. The other day the linen closet got cleaned out. There was not much to discard, just clear the visual clutter and evaluate the usefulness of the contents of the closet. The goal is to have (and have to take care of) only what is useful or beautiful. Oh yeah, there has been another paper purge (a curse of modern existence paper is) around here…about four bags worth. Out Out Out! The cleaning out does not stop at little things…Does anyone want a computer desk? It is a great computer desk. Excellent condition, on wheels. I no longer use a desktop computer, and so do not use the desk. I would rather have bookshelves in that space. (does anyone have bookshelves that they want to get rid of?) First come, first served on the computer desk….I may make it available on freecycle.

All this to make room for what I really want.  A peaceful, beautiful house with not much clutter.  And, I’ve been having a yearning for a pet.  I’ve been seriously considering a parakeet.  My grandmother had parakeets when I was a child.  They are smart and social and can be hand trained.  And, as pets go, fairly low maintenance.  Tim and I have been talking about it for awhile now.  We thought that we would wait until we got to Ohio.  I’m not sure I want to wait.  I know that we will make the move to Ohio….we don’t have a date yet….life is short…(I’ve gotten an especially good look at that one)…

I kept tropical fish for a few years.  They are fun, and a great chemistry lesson, and not much for social interaction!  There is no room for fish in this apartment.  I still have one of my tanks.  Perhaps when we get settled again I’ll be able to have my planted tanks again.  It has been more than 13 years since I lost my last cat.   Anyway, I’ve been investigating local shops and have found two that have a good reputation for birds.  I think I’ll have a look at the one in Rockville tomorrow.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    December 30, 2007 11:33 am

    If you’re considering cockatiels as well as parakeets, you might want to check out this place in Sterling: http://www.featherheads.com/
    They’ve got hand-raised babies.

    Also check this out – these really work. I don’t know if you can buy any small enough for a parakeet. http://www.naturechest.com/smallflight.html

  2. Pat permalink
    December 31, 2007 8:23 am

    The American Bird Company on Lee Highway in Falls Church has hand-raised birds. One thought about parakeets (and maybe other birds). Get only one bird. Our experience has been that one bird gets very tame, friendly and playful with humans. Two birds stay wild-like and unto themselves. Maybe others have had a better experience with two, but we were disappointed. We got one bird and he was getting quite tame to us. Then we got another bird, and the first reverted to his wildness, like the other one.

    Good luck!

  3. Liz permalink*
    December 31, 2007 9:08 am

    Pat and Susan,
    I’ve never even heard of these places! thanks for the tips…Falls Church could not be closer. Thanks, Susan, for the links!

  4. Karen Cain permalink
    December 31, 2007 11:51 am

    Happy New Year! What an excellent motivating note about January. I have the ambition to do the same about de-cluttering, but not the time and energy. I’ll have to involve many relatives to accomplish that one. Have a blessed new year. Karen

  5. Liz permalink*
    January 1, 2008 5:14 pm

    Hi Karen! Happy New Year! There is always the one drawer at a time method of de-cluttering! It’s the one I use the most often. All this clearing out relieves stress for me…may create stress for others….

Leave a Reply

