Skip to content

Personal Care Product Safety

November 10, 2007
by

Did you know that the FDA does not regulate a lot of ingredients in personal care and fragrance products? I didn’t until recently. This is very scary because a lot of what the FDA does say is ok, kills a lot people. I do know that there are a lot of pretty powerful chemicals in fragrance products (you know, the plug it in, plug it in type of home fragrance stuff) Companies can use anything they want in these products. It gives me a massive sinus headache, for starters. Recently I heard a news report about lead in lipsticks. Yikes!

It makes sense to me that if we lessen the chemical exposure that we can actually do something about, as in not using products that contain these chemicals, the healthier we will be. Same for products that we put on the skin. The skin is the largest organ. Anything you put on your skin is absorbed into your body. Petrochemicals, anyone?

I didn’t make up this saying, but I like it….If you can’t eat it, don’t put it on your skin. I thought I would share a website that I found out about recently. Look up your favorite products and see how they rate!

http://www.ewg.org/reports/skindeep2/search.php?nperpage-10&stype=brands&category

12 Comments leave one →
  1. MOM permalink
    November 10, 2007 7:14 pm

    Liz–Great Website–We always assumed that no product would be put on the market if it wasn’t safe–Now we’re afraid to go to the toy store!!!
    Mom

  2. Liz permalink*
    November 11, 2007 9:03 am

    Mom, Great to see you online!

  3. angela permalink
    November 12, 2007 12:27 am

    I have used this website for a few years now. It is awesome!! Its ironic how “they” will say these chemicals don’t get absorbed into the skin, that they are safe. Well isn’t our skin poris? Of course we are absorbing these chemicals. Sun screen has some of the most damaging ingredients, some researchers blame the chemicals in sunsreen to the increased incidence of skin cancer. Google it for more info. We have done so much research on this and have changed the type of products we use from shampoo to loundry detergent. In fact we are now using something called “soap nuts? an actual nut to wash our clothes with.

    http://www.betterlifegoods.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=BLG-CAT21480

  4. Liz permalink*
    November 12, 2007 8:46 am

    Ahhh..sunscreen….I have heard about increased risk of skin cancer with using it. I only will if I am out in the sun for a really long time. Which ones, if any, do you use? Cleaner laundry products are also a really good idea. I go for the ones with no color or smells. I am appalled, when I go to the laundromat, at how many products, and how much of them, people use. It never really riinses out of the fabric, and then you wear it on your skin and breath it into your body through your lungs. The chemical load is really large.
    As always, I’m really glad to see you on the blog!

  5. Pat Carey permalink
    November 12, 2007 6:17 pm

    Hi, Liz & Tim– It’s good to “hear” you sounding like your spirited self, Liz. I was thinking of you over the weekend – just feeling amazed and blessed that good things like the happenstance of meeting you two still can occur — and matter — in this world. How could I care so much about you when we have spent so little time together? I don’t know the answer, just that I do. I pray for a time when you don’t need to worry about cancer . . . tho I know, once affected, we never completely put these things out of our minds. Still, I pray for a time when the specialness of an old friend or the sight of a little kid trying to chase a leaf in the breeze or just the coziness of a familiar cushion in a favorite room — when those things are more often uppermost in your minds.

    As always, I’m thinking of you and looking forward to the time we can spend together. –Pat

  6. Liz permalink*
    November 12, 2007 7:34 pm

    Pat, As always it is great to hear from you! Boy, I can’t tell you how much I would like to not have cancer on my mind….I am , happily, having some days of better energy. I try not to get too carried away with myself or I crash. Sometimes I just crash anyway!
    Tim and I are still keeping an eye on the real estate market in Oberlin. Don’t know yet the right time,and looking forward to having our own house again!.

  7. Donna permalink
    December 4, 2007 11:35 am

    Cleaning supplies and laudry products are a huge contributor to allergies and irrritants to children, adults and the elderly. The Shaklee “Get clean” line that was launched in june of this year beats hands down any commercial product and organic line! And it contributes tot he going green as well as using the cleaning kit and laundry is the equalvalent to planting 10 trees. Oprah has even gone nuts over these products and has had them featured 4 times this year since June. Wow what free publicity that is. I will give free samples out for any one to try for the laundry. Every time I go to a family vacation, I take it and now my family is hooked ont eh cleanliness of the product and the effectiveness and the cost of the concentrates! This isnot a commerical but as a naturapath, it is what I recommend to my clients. And this month (December) if you buy a kit you get your memebership for free that allows you to get 15% off all of your products and in my group you get half of your shipping paid for!

    Donna

  8. Donna permalink
    December 4, 2007 11:35 am

    Ssorry for the typos- I miss spell check !

  9. Liz permalink*
    December 4, 2007 11:55 am

    Thanks, Donna! I also plan to try the soap nuts (I think that’s what they are called) The link for them is in a previous comment. The chemicals in laundry products are pretty awful.

  10. Karen Cain permalink
    December 5, 2007 12:56 pm

    Liz and Tim, I’ve been using Shaklee for over twenty years and believe in it. The company is doing a lot more marketing than I would have ever guessed. It’s going global to try to help the earthly environment. I can rely on the purity of all the products, and have, since day one. I’m just reinforcing Donna’s sentiments. I’ve even convinced Roy to take the 50+ formula of Vitalizer, and he seems to be handling it well. That’s a good thing. Karen

  11. Liz permalink*
    December 5, 2007 4:11 pm

    Hey Karen! Shaklee is good! Donna was telling me that they fell on hard times for a while with their quality, and now are back and strong. I was happy to hear it. There is one product that they have that sounds very exciting. Unhappily, I can’t remember the name of it….. I’ll ask Donna to have a few words to say about it.

  12. Karen Cain permalink
    December 7, 2007 3:24 pm

    I’m guessing it Nutriferon, which boosts the immune system. That’s the newest “supplement” in quite a while that has the research behind it and is getting great reviews. Karen

Leave a Reply

