Skip to content

R.I.P….:)

October 26, 2007
by

…for the mouse, that is….Poor little guy….Tim talked me into a snap trap…The deal is, I bait it, he picks it up . I set two. I think it might be a good idea to leave the other trap around just in case. Have to say this little mouse was pretty industrious! Not only did he decimate my favorite crackers, he cleaned us out of sunflower seeds! They were on the third shelf of the bookcase that I use for a pantry! Busy, busy, busy! I got some non toxic deterrent to put around the house inside and out. It is called Shake Away for anyone reading this who might want to try more natural solutions to such problems.

Have to go now, maybe more later…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Glenis Pittman permalink
    October 31, 2007 12:05 pm

    Liz & Tim,

    Unfortunately, we have had experience to share about capturing mice. There is a bigger story…quite funny. However, bottom line: we would recommend something called Glue Traps…the rat size. They are basically rectangular, plastic plates with a thick, sticky glue in them. You are to put them where you see “evidence” of your mouse. The mouse tries to run over it and gets stuck. By using several of these traps you prevent the impact of the metal cutting or pounding the mouse and scattering the mouse dander all around in the air you breath. Mouse dander germs can impact neurological health in humans….according to documentaries I’ve seen. …Not that you all needed any other concerns to come your way. I like the idea of setting the trap and someone else doing the clean up! 🙂 Go Tim! The mouse will die on its own. We have caught two this way over 2 years. One we found dead on the trap. THe other we found alive. I put the trap outside. The mouse died outside within 24 hours. Then, we just threw the trap and mouse away. I know it is uncomfortable to talk about, but it was recommended to us by an anti-pest company we could have paid megga bucks to rid our house of mice. It’s worked for us. I hope this is helpful.

    It was great to see you today, too! You look radiant!!
    Love,

    Glenis

  2. Liz permalink*
    November 1, 2007 7:45 am

    Hi Glenis, Thanks for the helpful tips to rid ourselves of the pesky mice. I’m not convinced that we are free of them. (I think some peanut butter was eaten from the trap in the kitchen! I think I’ll check out the glue traps too!

  3. mary permalink
    November 1, 2007 9:28 pm

    I have a little experience with mice. Did you know they like chocolate! I was astounded. I thought it would kill them…and maybe it did. Last year when I was working on the big fundraiser for the kids at St. Paul, a mouse was in the storage area where we had some gift baskets already assembled. We were moving them and saw some silver paper filter down to the floor. Upon further investigation….the booger ate a good portion of a large candy kiss. Not the normal kiss size…like a 6 oz. size. And he did his best to gnaw his way into a conatiner of chocolate coco powder….one of those with the cardboard sizeds but metal tops….he started on the metal tops…but must have been scared away.

    The year before when I was up late one night working on the same event….a mouse came to visit me in the basement where the computer is located. I was emailing my co-workers and had to type “”EEEEK…I just saw a mouse.”” They all thought it was very funny that I included it in my email.

    Jeff managed the mouse removal. He was thoughtful of my sensibilities though….since there was a good chance I might have to deal with it too. We bought some traps that are circular, a short cylinder. When the mouse goes inside..it snaps and twist the ring closed leaving the little mouse in side. No gooeyness to worry about. The little guys live out the rest of their time encased in plastic.

    Others argued it was in humane. But this humane did not really worry about the zenness.

    Mary

  4. mary permalink
    November 1, 2007 9:30 pm

    so, I can’t edit my spelling and punctuation? No fair.

  5. Liz permalink*
    November 2, 2007 2:00 pm

    Dear Mary,
    Gunny story! I like the arrangement I have with Tim. He picks them up! (not with bare hands!)

Leave a Reply

