Skip to content

Updates on Thursday…

October 25, 2007
by

I’ve had a couple of pretty good days I’m happy to say! Here is the latest..

I’ve found an oncologist here in Virginia who is willing to do follow up care with me. His name is Patrick Byrne. Nice Guy…and he graduated from Ohio State the same year that Tim did! (what’s not to like?) too bad he does not do alternative treatments! I consulted him back in June, and he said that he would be open to following me regardless of what treatment options I went with. I needed to have my port flushed and thought I would see if he meant it. He did! There were no patronizing remarks, no funny looks, no scare tactics, the staff was very nice, and they take our insurance! This is good because I think it will eliminate hassles with insurance claims for scans and routine blood work. He suggests that I check in with him about once a month for a few months, and repeat the pet scan at about the 6 month mark. That is December I think.

Meantime, in the house stuff category…the gift that keeps on giving…we have mice! The new landlords did a lot of work outside and cleared a lot of ground cover. A mouse has to live somewhere I guess. Just not in my kitchen! I’ve been hearing stuff and thought I saw (but surely not!) some evidence of mice. Last night I left some crackers on the counter and all but two were gone in the morning. sigh… The thought of dealing with squished mice in traps does not thrill me. I think I’ll try live traps and steel wool. There is a large hole in the kitchen floor at the radiator to plug up. I can’t see behind the fridge and I’m sure the mouse is behind there. Perhaps I should borrow a cat!? Tim says it’s better than roaches and I agree. Advice on non toxic solutions is invited!

And last, another article to read…enjoy!

http://www.newstarget.com/022157.html
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dean Gray permalink
    October 25, 2007 9:55 am

    Hi Liz,

    Just doing one of my regular “checking ins” — or is that “checkings in?”

    Thanks for the updates and it’s good to stay a part of your lives.

    Hi to The Man.

    — Dean

  2. Liz permalink*
    October 25, 2007 10:38 am

    Hey dean! Great to hear from you. thanks for posting so I know you are there!

Leave a Reply

