Skip to content

Yippee!

September 20, 2007
by

Finally finished chemotherapy yesterday. I am so relieved! No more poison! Now to clear out and detox the drugs! This has been interesting. I noticed last week that my hair had stopped falling out. This is really good news as I figured that it would continue till the end of treatment because of the level of drugs in my system. Hmmm…..mystery… don’t know why it started, don’t know why it stopped. Hopefully other body systems that could have collateral damage from the Chemotherapy will also be protected, rescued, and repaired. Please pray for that, and that the drugs did kill any cancer that may have still been with me.

While I’m sooo glad to be finished, it is bittersweet as I have grown fond of Dr. Ayre and his daughters and Chris. I loved what they have done in the office with plants and fish and dogs. Had I mentioned that they bring their dogs to the office? Very sweet dogs. It is really nice to have animals around and they are very well behaved. (just watch your lunch :))

Travel yesterday was really easy again I’m happy to say. I had been watching the weather reports and all seemed to say that it would be raining in Chicago, and I thought oh rats, there could be delays. It was a really nice sunny day in Chicago yesterday! No delay. Even the children on the flight were good! There was one baby, perhaps a couple three months old who was the most placid baby I had ever seen. Just hanging out on mom’s lap happy as could be. Even on takeoff and landing when the little ones get into trouble being able to clear their ears with the pressure changes. I could not believe it! There was, however, one little girl who could use some prayers, I think. Good as gold right behind me the whole flight. I forgot she was there! When we began our descent, her father(?) told her to put her shoes on. Soon after she began to cry and say it really hurt. These were not crocodile tears. I thought she was in trouble with her ears and was wishing her father would give her some information about how to clear them, or give her a drink or any kind of help. Another passenger behind me gave the father a stick of gum for her to chew. I was horrified to discover that she was crying because her shoes were so small that they hurt her. Based on how she was crying, they hurt a lot. Her father told her not to think about it and to stop crying (how helpful). She said once that she wanted her mother, and I thought, oh honey, your mother is not much help if she lets your shoes be so small. It seems really possible that this child is badly neglected. I don’t know who she is. Pray for her.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    September 20, 2007 9:14 am

    Yeah! It’s over!

    About the little girl: maybe she was only suffering from a little temporary edema, making her feet swell and thus making the shoes a little (or a lot) painful. It’s happened to me and it can be pretty unpleasant.

    Scott

  2. Rich permalink
    September 20, 2007 9:52 am

    Congrats on being done!

  3. Pat permalink
    September 20, 2007 10:37 am

    YEAAAAAAAAA ! ! ! ! !

  4. Liz permalink*
    September 20, 2007 10:41 am

    Scott – Sure hope that is the case. for that poor child..
    Thanks for writing and keeping track of all this stuff!
    .Next time we go to Chicago it will be for fun!

  5. Liz permalink*
    September 20, 2007 10:45 am

    Hey Rich! Nice to hear from you. Glad that you keep reading!

  6. Glenis Pittman permalink
    September 24, 2007 9:20 am

    Hi Liz!
    I just wanted you to know that Anne and I are still checking your blog and keeping you and Tim and the house in prayer. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m excited to know the last chemo has come and gone, that your hair has stopped falling out (!!), the travel has been easy, and that you see good results to all the work being done on the house. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yippe, indeed!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love,

    Glenis

    P.S. – I have prayed for that little girl. Thank you for the privilege of joining you in prayer for her.

Leave a Reply

