Skip to content

Still getting ready….

July 17, 2007

Thought I would put up another post. I don’t have a lot of news. Just trying to get our house and business things in order before we go. It is challenging in the face of fatigue and the prospect of a long trip. Have also been having a struggle with diet restrictions. I know that no one person or program has all the answers. All of them have holes and things that they don’t completely understand. It is a big task to figure these pieces out and make decisions about the direction I want to go. How to best take care of myself, and where to place my energy is absorbing a lot of time.

I am able to keep my attention on interesting future things to try to keep perspective. Some are not as important as others. For example….Did you know that there are only 4 more days till the last Harry Potter book? I can’t wait. My mother is shipping me a copy to Chicago. The crib blanket project is going really well. I am almost at the half way point. this is where the most knitting is. After I begin to decrease on each row it will go faster.

Audrey suggested that I think about making a presentation to a local Reach to Recovery group about my experience exploring alternative treatments for breast cancer. Audrey is a volunteer with them, and can arrange such things. We talked about the possibility of doing that sometime next year. I am intrigued and I love a challenge. Audrey is a wonderful friend and this is yet another way she is thoughtful about me.  I’ve been wondering how I can use this experience. I’ve never done much writing and after reading the books of a couple of women who have healed cancer in alternative ways I wonder what I might do. Just some musings….

I continue to be lifted up by friends who offer encouragement and support.  I don’t feel especially courageous….it is nice to hear such words said to me.  And some of the best advice so far from Joyce…Liz, come in from the ledge, and close the window!  Good idea and I laugh every time I think if it!  Thanks Joyce

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rich permalink
    July 19, 2007 11:25 am

    Good luck in The Windy City. Hope all goes well and the results are stunning!.

    rich

  2. Liz permalink*
    July 19, 2007 1:05 pm

    Thanks, Rich

  3. Joyce permalink
    July 19, 2007 8:49 pm

    Hey Liz,

    You and Tim have a safe trip…GODspeed and don’t forget “you call, I haul!” It was great speaking with you and so good to hear your voice. Get back home safely, and when you’re ready…plan for a road trip 🙂

    GOOD LUCK with your treatment! Kick ass!

    “Bear Hugs”
    Joyce

Leave a Reply

