Skip to content

Going to Chicago!

July 5, 2007
by

I had a telephone consultation with Dr. Ayre in Chicago a couple of weeks ago. Dr. Ayre does a treatment called Insulin Potentation Therapy (IPT). This treatment uses insulin to prep the cancer cells to receive standard chemotherapy drugs.

Cancer cells, I’ve learned, make their own insulin. Cancer loves sugar. Cancer cells have 17 times more receptor sites on them than normal cells. The treatment uses the insulin to drop the blood sugar, make the cells starved for glucose, open their receptors as wide as possible, and then deliver a fraction (about 1/10th) of the chemotherapy drugs than are used in standard treatments.

Delivery of the drugs in this manner kills the cancer and minimizes the effect on the host (Me). I will not lose my hair or suffer the other debilitating effects of systemic poisoning caused by chemotherapy. I suspect that the risk of leukemia and other awful health problems such as heart damage and digestive system damage and other things are diminished.

This is not a new therapy. Dr. Ayre has been practicing this for many years, and has taught other doctors how to do it, and has presented to NIH and others. He will do the treatments himself.

Dr. Ayre also provides IV Vitamin C therapy, nutritional counseling, and Mind/Body work to address the mental and spiritual aspects of the cancer process.

The treatment course is 9 weeks. Tim and I are making plans now about logistics, how to get there, where to stay, how to manage what we need to manage here at home. I start treatment on July 24th. Dr. Ayre is out of the office the week before that so it does not make sense to go sooner.

We are driving our own car out there. It will take at least two days travel. We can get as far as Ohio on one day, and finish the next.

Here is the website:

http://www.contemporarymedicine.net

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Peter E permalink*
    July 5, 2007 8:00 am

    Sounds promising. Prayers continue.
    Cheers
    p.

  2. Dean Gray permalink
    July 5, 2007 9:14 am

    Hi Liz,

    Just checked in to see the latest. If you and Tim have time on your way to Chicago, it would be great to see you. But with family in the area, I know that might be difficult. In any case, if a get together is possible, it would be nice to see you.

  3. Liz permalink*
    July 5, 2007 5:41 pm

    Dean,
    Don;t know yet. Let’s be in touch as the time gets closer.

  4. Liz permalink*
    July 5, 2007 5:41 pm

    Peter,
    Thanks!

  5. Brian permalink
    July 6, 2007 11:41 am

    Hi Liz and Tim

    Good Luck in Chicago. I have been trying to find peer reviewed information on IPT. There doesn’t seem to be much available to review. Medscape failed to get any hits. Google only found the link you sent and one from Southern California. Neither are from mainstream institutuions. For a treatment that has been used in Europe for such a long time, I would hope there would be better clinical trials and outcome data. This mirrors my concerns over much of the alternative medicine approach. This approach is almost completely unregulated, and the clinical research available is often inadequately controlled. Many failures of the treatment are left out of research for a variety of reasons, falsly improving the result.

    I do not mean to imply mainstream medical research is without fault. Most large clinical trials are funded by pharmaceutical companies with medicines that have huge profit potential. This leaves out old medicines like insulin. Federal funding for this type of research is woefully inadequate, and hospital based research is hampered by the same financial problems all of medicine is suffering with.

    The current treatment of breast cancer has improved draumatically over the past 5-10 years. In many ways it has become a disease that if not always cured, it has become more of a chronic illness that can be managed for a very long time minimally affecting lifesyle or longevity.

    Liz, I applaude your taking charge of your treatment decisions. Keep your mind open to traditional medicine recomendations. Consider getting another consult at either Sloan Kettering, or Brigham and Womens Hospital for cutting edge advice. In my experience, the best medical exeperts will not try to sell a treatment option, give too optimistic of an opinion of therapy results, or believe that their opinion is the last word. They are more likely to give a conservative but frank opionion based on the best evidence available and try to caitor it to your situation.

    Finally, if you require additional chemotherapy, Choosing to limit the dosing of medicine strikes me as a big gamble with potentially life treatening outcome. Please enter into treatment with balanced recomendations.

    Brian

  6. Glenis Pittman permalink
    July 6, 2007 1:33 pm

    Hi Liz!

    Anne and I continue to pray. I’m just checking to get the latest. This treatment by Dr. Ayres sounds great. I look forward to hearing your reports about it as you experience it.

    God be with you and Tim!

    Love,

    Glenis

  7. Stacy Cain Adler permalink
    July 7, 2007 8:34 pm

    Hi Uncle Tim and Aunt Liz, I’m so sorry I have not been “around,” so to speak. I actually just found out about your blog and have been reading it for the last hour. I had a lot to catch up on. I have been thinking of you, but I am bad about making the contact to let you know that. I pray that this therapy is safe and effective. I, unfortunately, don’t know much about it, but will try to learn more.

    lots of love, Stacy

  8. Liz permalink*
    July 8, 2007 8:55 am

    Dear Brian and Stacy,
    Rats, I was in the middle of posting you a reply and hit some unknown key and it want away! Oh well, here we go again.
    I wanted to thank you for your concern and prayers.
    I have been very careful, reading and listening to people and paying attention to how I wish to be treated as I make treatment decisions. As you can imagine, (and I hope you never have to find out firsthand) this is a very large mountain to clime.
    Thanks for your prayers for me.

  9. Karen and Roy permalink
    July 8, 2007 10:37 am

    Liz and Tim, I saw in your note about Chicago, that you plan to drive to Ohio the first day. I’m hoping it means we will get to see you, hug you and pray with you. As you know, we are experiencing a similar mountain in “another state.” Tomorrow, 7-9-7, the home infusion section of our insurance will start IV antibiotics that will hopefully treat what is ailing Roy. He got through the insertion of the port and a spinal tap this last week. I am praying for the best for all who are ill and homebound. I know that there are a lot of prayers being said on our behalf, including you both. Love, Karen

  10. Meg Stephens permalink
    July 9, 2007 11:40 am

    Liz – I loved having lunch w/you on Saturday and now (Monday morning), when I’m supposed to be working, catching up on the blog. A couple of family reunions back to back have kept me out of the loop for awhile. What fascinating tales lie on this blog! I am learning a lot from you and from my fellow “blog familly” members. It’s such a blast learning new stuff in my late 50s, just when I thought I was Miss Know-It-All! Chelation, for example – a word I had never heard before and now can even pronounce (tho not define). Is Che Lime Pie something we can cook up for you? 🙂 Oh, and don’t forget to rent “Major League,” the funniest movie a Cleveland Indians fan – or anyone – might ever see. Many hugs as ever – Meg

  11. peggy and Bob Reaves permalink
    July 11, 2007 8:16 am

    We continue to pray: sorry we have not been in better contact: Peggy has had some heart “issues”: wore a halter moniter etc but all results came back fine !! In any event, we continue to pray and be thankful for your persevernce. Love to you both: Peggy and Bob

  12. Liz permalink*
    July 11, 2007 4:36 pm

    Peggy and Bob,
    Let;s talk really soon! Much to catch up on

  13. Neil Hooper permalink
    July 18, 2007 8:33 am

    Hi Liz, George and I have been away on several trips and have just now caught up with your latest. We continue to hold you in our prayers and wish you continued healling and wisdom as you take this trip to Chicago. Love and prayers, Neil and George <

  14. Liz permalink*
    July 18, 2007 4:13 pm

    Neil, Sorry I missed you today. Miss you overall! Thanks for the prayers and we will keep you informed online till I get back home.

Leave a Reply

