Skip to content

Heavy metal test results

July 1, 2007

I have done some follow up testing regarding heavy metal toxicity, and have results. This was a challenge test, meaning that I took DMSA to provoke the elimination of heavy metals into the urine. I collected urine for 6 hours, shook it up really well, poured some into a test tube, and mailed it in.

The results were a bit alarming. I am way way off scale in Mercury. The reference range for acceptable is less than 4. My value is 28! While I know I’ve been exposed to mercury, dental fillings, and broken thermometers, and seafood, I am very surprised that my levels are so high. Mercury is very dangerous, and I am amazed that my body is doing as well as it is considering the load. Mercury is very responsible for the suppression of the immune system, nerve damage, and all kinds of bad stuff.
Also in the unacceptable range are Lead, and Uranium. I can account for lead. Uranium is another matter! The lab report indicates that uranium is more common than mercury or cadmium in the earth’s rock strata, and may be present in ground (drinking) water. I don’t know anything about the geology of all the areas that I have lived in my life. Would be interesting to find out!

There were a few other metals which showed in the acceptable range. They are: Arsenic, Cadmium, Nickel, Thallium

Neesless to say, chelation is underway as I write this! I’ll take the DMSA on a schedule based on my weight for about 3 weeks. I then intend to speak with a doctor about the possibility of iv chelation of the metals. Happily, my kidneys are in good shape. With a creatinine result of 14, (reference range is 35-225), I think that my kidneys are ok.

All this is very reversible I am happy to say! And, with the metals load removed, my immune system will have a chance to recover. I shudder to think of introducing conventional chemotherapy to a body already so heavily burdened with mercury at the levels that I currently have. Yikes! Mercury gets stored in the liver. The liver also has to deal with any drugs and all foods and other toxins I encounter.

I’ll re-test at an appropriate interval and expect to see lower levels!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. angela permalink
    July 1, 2007 11:12 pm

    Hi Liz

    It was good to see an update, we think of you often. It sounds like you are on the right track, cleaning your body up so it can fight the cancer.

    One question. The chelation pesto recipe that you posted, does it remove mercury?

    Interesting about uranium and drinking water. We use this filter system called zero water, I’m not sure if it takes uranium out but it does produce pretty pure water and even removes flouride.
    http://www.zerowater.com/promo/main.html
    http://www.zerowater.com/index.html

    Love to you and Uncle Tim
    Angela

  2. Pat O'Neill permalink
    July 2, 2007 9:35 am

    Wow! Those numbers are shocking. I’m sure we all must be carrying around a load of metal. May God bless your efforts with the chelation and other wellness strategies.

  3. Liz permalink*
    July 2, 2007 9:51 am

    I’ll keep you posted on follow up test results. I am taking an oral chelation agent. I am also eating the pesto. If the numbers had been lower I would just be using the pesto. I am curious to know how effective it is. At the levels that my test showed, I suspect that chelation by food would be just too slow.

  4. Carol permalink
    July 6, 2007 7:40 am

    Hi Liz,

    Just getting caught up on your recent notes. I was surprised about the heavy metal results. Good luck on your de-tox efforts. It can’t be easy trying to find the right things to eat AND taste good too! Chrissie Hynde is opening up a new vegetarian restaurant in Akron in September. I’m curious to test the menu, it’s a vegetarian mix with a medetarrainian twist. Good luck to you in Chicago. We are thinking of you often and keeping you in our prayers.

    Love to you,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

