Skip to content

From Seattle

June 5, 2007
by

It is Tuesday. I’m in Seattle. It is freezing here! I’m here for a Re-evaluation counseling intensive week. I’ve been practicing RC for 18 years and find it very useful. I have also discovered that it’s theory and practice can help groups function better. In a nutshell, RC is a process by which people can exchange effective listening and assist one another in freeing themselves from the effects of distress and hurts. The basics are easy to learn, simple exchange of time in listening and talking. Over time, trust develops between those who practice this, and it becomes better and better. I use this to help me think clearly about how I want my life to be and how to help things around me work well. All of this is based on specialized good listening. As a result, I have become an excellent counselor . I also teach others how to do it. If you are in Virginia, and want to learn, I will be happy to talk with you about it. If you are in another state, I can help you meet someone who might be teaching in your area.

As you might expect, the ability to think clearly, and make decisions in my best interests is of great importance now. I am using this time well and am grateful for the opportunity to be here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Gilchrist permalink
    June 6, 2007 7:57 pm

    Liz,

    I was interested to read about RC. Does it grow out of any particular tradition– religious or whatever? Somehow it sounds like a cross between a really honest friendship and a good patient-therapist relationship, but probably I’m off-base since I don’t really know what I’m talking about!

    I’m so glad you did the concert and that it was beneficial. I, too, thought there were many high spots. It is for certain we reached the audience. Too bad the Post reviewer focused only on our shortcomings, but I mustn’t let that bother me.

    I will enjoy keeping up with your blog. I feel I’m learning a lot from you, my dear.

    Sarah

  2. Flo And Gene permalink
    June 7, 2007 10:16 am

    Hi Liz,
    Wow, how exciting that you are in Seattle for evaluation for treatment. Ruth mentioned about the telephone interview you all had. We’re praying for you. Love, Flo and Gene

  3. Liz permalink*
    June 7, 2007 10:36 am

    Sarah, Great to hear from you! Yeah, you are right, the RC relationship developes like a really close friendship. RC is not therapy,though, and does not grow out of a religious tradition.
    We just practice really good listening and assist each other. We don’t give advice, and, since this is not therapy, don;t label ourselves or others with diagnosis.
    It has been especially useful to me when I quit smoking 18 years ago, and got myself into and through graduate school. I used it to help me set goals and work to meet them.
    And the concert….I want to know what Patrick says…. I consider him the acid test. For those who might be reading, Patrick is Assistant Artistic Director (I think that is the title) He was in the audience.

  4. Liz permalink*
    June 7, 2007 10:42 am

    Hey Flo! Nice to see you on the blog! Seattle is great and I’m having a good time. Unhappily, I was not able to get out to see the clinic. I thought It might be possible, and it turns out that the ferry to the island is a little too far north of here to make it feasible by taxi etc. I would not have been able to get there by the time they close.
    I will have to google earth the island! Meantime, there is another doctor in Chicago who does the same treatment. I will want to talk to him. Hopefully next week.

  5. ardeth hines permalink
    June 8, 2007 8:16 am

    Well, you certainly make more sense in this than I did in the journals I kept when I had my cancers!

    Are you getting any sun in Seattle? That is a beautiful city, but the air is usually so thick. . . .!!

    I’m going to a Dr Berg at the corner of Braddock Road and Little River Turnpike who does diets and interesting things; the treatments his office offers aren’t specifically for cancer, but for wholeness and all body health. It would be supportive for whatever conventional treatments you are choosing. . . .

    Hope you willl be making it to group on Sunday, altho’ with all the cross country travel, that would be quite a deal. But if you or Tim need a ride, let us know. . . .

  6. Liz permalink*
    June 8, 2007 10:55 am

    Arteth,
    Seattle is a very nice city. I did see some sun this week (in between the rain showers!) Yesterday I want to the Seattle Center and had a walk around. Very nice.
    I just saw my email and lo and behold, home group on Sunday. It would be great to see everybody….I think a ride would be very nice. Let’s talk tomorrow about that! Thanks so much for the offer!

Leave a Reply

