Skip to content

PET scan today

May 25, 2007

The scan went well today. I went in at 8:00am. they had me drink about 24 oz of barium (someone needs to work on the taste of that stuff). Then they injected some kind of radioactive isotope into my arm and had me lie still and do nothing for about 45 min. I had thought that I might be able to read or knit while I waited and was told no. Any activity would show up on the scan. There is a form of glucose in the injection that goes to the site of any cancer. Cancer loves sugar. Any activity would draw the glucose to those muscles, even the eyes, which had moved.
The scanner is pretty large. I lay on my back. big bolster under my knees. pretty comfortable. covered in a blanket. It is pretty chilly in the room. I was able to wear my street clothes and was asked not to wear anything metal. The tech put me through the scanner back and forth a couple of times fairly quickly. Then through to the back so my head was out and body was in. The last trip through took 24 min.

I am slightly claustrophobic. Not usually something that affects my life. I just like to know that I can get out of places. There was no getting out of this place. So… I kept my eyes closed. The tech offered me an eye mask. I took it and just put it up on my forehead. I liked having the option to use it, though when the scan began, I was not able to move, and in the scanner it would not have been possible to move. Thank God for music. Last April I sang Elijah by Felix Mendelssohn. All of it was beautiful and especially a text from psalm 55.

Cast thy burden upon the Lord and He will sustain you. He never will suffer the righteous to fall. He is at thy right hand. Thy mercy Lord is great and far above the heavens. Let none be made ashamed that wait upon thee.

Mendelssohn wrote a beautiful line for the altos. I sang and meditated on this text the entire 30 min on the scanner. It kept me calm, there was no panic. I also know that there are many praying for healing and relief from fear. Those prayers are being answered today.

The staff at Fairfax PET Imaging Center were really nice and treated me well. Hope I never have to see them again!

I’m not sure when I’ll get results. Sometime next week after Tuesday. I’ll let you know as soon as I do. just so that there won’t be any questions like “what did she know , and when did she know it?” This is Washington after all….

I have a CD of the images. I have not looked at it yet. though I will not know how to read it, I am intrigued and will look later. When I got home I had something to eat and crashed for a nap. I am seriously into Monk reruns so guess what I’ll be doing later?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. MOM permalink
    May 26, 2007 11:35 am

    Liz–Let’s hear it for the Psalms!! They truly are beauty for the ages–Center yourself in God’s presence and let Him work in your life–
    Much easier said than done!!
    Do you remember Miss Maffey?—Girls–I just love Jeremiah!!!—
    Also Mr Yates and “Thanks Be To Thee”—
    Giving thanks is peacegiving–
    Me

  2. ardeth hines permalink
    May 27, 2007 3:18 pm

    What a gift to be able to sing! Those tubes are not fun.

    Hey, I have a good nutritionist; Victoria Woods. She worked with me thru my chemo, radiation and tamoxifen; she is really good. She has an office in DC, a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro. Her phone is 301-270-4244 and she’s really good about calling back. I’d recommend my oncologist but he’s retired! And I haven’t seen my new one this year yet. . . .

    Many prayers for both of you. . . .

  3. Liz permalink*
    May 27, 2007 7:12 pm

    Thanks, Ardeth! I’ve written her name into my palm. I will be able to call her when I get home from Seattle.

  4. Liz permalink*
    May 27, 2007 7:23 pm

    Hi Mom! Pretty cool weeing you on the blog. I think of Miss Maffey often. She was my religious studies teacher 9th grade. That was the year we read the entire old testiment. I think we were beginning to bog down around Jeremiah. I remember really interesting dinnertime conversation that year as we talked about what was happening next in the bible!

Leave a Reply

