Skip to content

More on the fast and the arm

May 21, 2007

I’m finishing the first week of the fast. Today is the 7th day. I went to get another week of veggies today. The folks over at Healthways in Annandale are really wonderful. If I call them by Friday afternoon, they will order everything I need. Most of what I need they have lots of, but I thought that 35 granny smith apples would put them under. That was not a typo. I meant to say 35 granny smith apples! Anyway, they put the order together for me and are really nice.

I think that I will break the fast on Wednesday or Thursday. I’ll keep making veggie juice and doing everything else, just add solid food. The thing I miss the most is variety and something to crunch. I have my heart set on fish (and more fish) it seems that I have been craving it. I also miss garlic and rice and crackers…did I say anything about crunch? And, I’m going out of town the first week of June. To Seattle. I’ll say more about that later. It takes a little time to get used to solid food again. I have to go slow the first couple of days. I need everything back to normal by the time I leave on June 3rd.

Today is 3 weeks since the surgery. I’m feeling better. Right now my biggest problem is the mobility of my arm. I had a frozen shoulder going into surgery. At this point I have very limited mobility in my left arm. The tissues are shortened, the nerve is damaged and stretching really hurts. I am doing stretching exercises a couple of times a day. I do best when someone is with me. Tim has been wonderful about this. It is pretty scary to do them alone. The goal, of course, is total mobility.

I am happy to report that I have had a nap (evidence that I can manage the fast schedule better, and can relax enough to rest) the past couple of days! I am a napper all my life and like nothing better. At this point I think it is good medicine.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen and Roy permalink
    May 21, 2007 6:39 pm

    I was able to go to a Business /Professional Women state conference last weekend. Friday at noon I left with friends to drive to Deer Creek State Park (South of Columbus on the plains of OH). It was a really great weekend. Duane and Roy did fine while I was gone. I am praying that the concert goes very well and your trip to Seattle will be all you hope it will be. Take care. Love, Karen

  2. Sarah Gilchrist permalink
    May 22, 2007 4:17 pm

    I continue to marvel at your spirit. The fast is taking its toll (I see how skinny you’re getting and I wonder how you’ll have the strength for the Bach performance), but yet you remain positive. I hope you’ll achieve fully mobility very soon.

    Thinking of you,
    Sarah

  3. Nancy Lesch permalink
    May 23, 2007 8:56 am

    Liz, as a health and wellness provider, (and singer) I applaud your efforts to keep yourself at the center of this process. I am reminded of the phrase “I have cancer, but cancer does not have me.” I believe that healing can take many forms, but central to healing is the power of choice. Once you have all the information that you feel you can find, then you can make decisions based on the science and the art of healing. How many times do you hear stories of people whose illness is lessened by the support of friends, or prayers of others? There are studies that show that people with severe heart disease, all other things being equal, the ones that had no family/social support system didn’t live as long as the ones who were supported and visited daily.

    My point is, you cannot rely on any modality other than the one that you believe is right for you. You seem fearless and eager to learn and determined to do whatever is right. Your mental, social, emotional and spiritual state are inextricably linked to your physical body and its capacity to heal.

    To that end, choosing to fast, or choosing to eat a certain way, voraciously reading all information and deciding, talking to friends and loved ones, writing about it, and very definitely singing Bach B Minor Mass–those are all healing modalities in their own right.

    So….you go!!

  4. Pat O'Neill permalink
    May 23, 2007 12:42 pm

    At first I thought you wrote “35 granny smith apple PIES” and was disappointed to learn that it was just the apples. Too bad sugar isn’t good for you.

  5. Liz permalink*
    May 23, 2007 1:31 pm

    Pat, Acutlaly, if it were 35 pies, I would not be as skinny as Sarah says I am! can anyone even eat tht many pies?
    Right now I weigh 125 pounds. perfect for my height at this point. Normal for me until I was about 34 was 110. I’ve promised Ruth that I would tell her if the scale goes below 120. I don’t think it will Before I quit sugar two years ago I was up to 170. Pretty big for me don’t you think?
    Just a little side thought…Last time two times I got my driver license, I put my real weight on the form! Just as an act of liberation from weight opperession. It’s a cool thing for women to do since we lie about it so much! So important to tell the truth. II just looked at it and bummer, it does not say weight on the license. I think it does in New Jersey (or at least used to) You guys in NJ….does it still tell weight?

  6. Liz permalink*
    May 23, 2007 1:43 pm

    Nancy,
    Thank you for such supportive words. This is a big challenge, and I know that my body is listening and beleiving everything that I say and think. thought and words can manifest in the body for healing or sickness. I have seen many persons die when they decide to. the reverse is true as well. It is so important to me that the persons around me are supportive and loving. It is so.
    And, nothing beats that B minor Mass! It is such fun and I love it. It is so worth the extra energy that it takes.

  7. Pat O'Neill permalink
    May 23, 2007 4:40 pm

    Wow. two years ago 170? now 125? congratulations. (I don’t ever remember thinking you were overweight.) I used to have an apple pie recipe sweetened only with raisins and it was yummy. However, I think the cookbook was destroyed when the tree fell on our house.
    Another thought. I remember reading in one of St. Paul’s letters that he was “feeding” them “milk” (like infants) because they weren’t yet ready for solid food. I knew that solid food is gradually introduced to babies, but I didn’t realize adults had to ease into solid foods after an extended liquid diet. Interesting.
    I’m glad you continue to sing and that it brings you such joy. I pray for you daily.

Leave a Reply

